Action! Q&A with Liz Borino

One of my favourite things is when I find a new author, and in Liz Borino I have found an author that I think, in fact I know, a lot of my friends will also love to read. I recently read her book “Action” (I’ll be posting my review tomorrow)  and she has graciously come here to answer a few questions, so let’s get started…..

Hi Liz, and welcome to BuyTheBook …. I am really excited to get to know more about you ! I have just finished reading “Action!” – and really enjoyed it! But beyond that I really don’t know much about you and your back catalogue or WIP’s so I have had lots of fun trying to come up with questions to get to know all about you. Well not all about you… You can keep some secrets 🙂

Thank you for having me! I’m so glad you enjoyed “Action!”

What was your first book and how long did it take to get it published?

My first book is “Expectations”, which was published eighteen months after I wrote the end.

How many books have you written thus far?

One which will remain unpublished 🙂  three in the Taylor Twins series (Expectations, What Money Can’t Buy, Gifts from the Past) and Action, first in the Ben’s Life series.

When did you start writing m/m romance? and what about this genre interested you the most?

Expectations was my first M/M romance and I like to say it wasn’t a conscience choice. Chris was gay and that’s why he couldn’t marry the woman his father wanted him to.

Action is D/s – is this your first foray into writing kink? Any research secrets you can share? 🙂

Yes, this is my first kinky book and it was very much a choice. I must admit, I, at first, wrote it out of anger at some of the other books in the genre, but then I fell in love with Steve and Zack. Best research secret? Talk to people who live the life you’re trying to portray. You can only learn so much from books.

Do you write full time?

No, I also edit (freelance and for two publishers) and attend graduate school.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

Combination. I have the beginning and end figured out, in addition to some scenes in the middle. These can change depending on my boys’ moods, but I feel better with some sort of structure.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

I try to fit their personalities as much as possible. Before “Action!” was published, I convinced myself that Steve wasn’t a “proper Dom” name. However, it was his name. No matter what else I tried, it didn’t work.

I see that “Action!” is labeled as Book 1 in “Ben’s Life Series” – how many will there be? and how will they be linked? I didn’t see any obvious next couples or characters.

Steve and Zack will ‘star’ in the next two ebooks. Once those are published, Lazy Day is printing the trilogy. To add appeal, and get fans who have already bought the books in digital form to buy the print, I’m including a prequel to Action, which will depict the beginning of Steve and Zack’s relationship.

What’s your favourite hobby outside of writing?

People have time for hobbies outside of writing? Okay seriously, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends traveling and exploring different cities. I love theater as well.

What’s the one question you wish people would ask you when you tell them you’re a writer?

“Oh, that’s amazing! Can I give you money for your effort?”

And how do you answer it?

“Yes, you may! Thank you so much for asking.”

… good answers !! 🙂

Who designed the cover of your book?

Lazy Day has a great cover artist.

I just did a blog post about covers, and admitted to buying “Strong Hand” purely based on the beautiful arse umm , art 🙂 Have you ever bought a book based on the cover?

Bought a book? No, but I have picked up/clicked on a book if the cover caught my attention.

Do you like to cook? Do you have a favourite food?

I don’t cook. I do, however, love food. My favorite is citrus chicken over pasta.

Can you give me one of your favourite quotes ? Book, film, your mum, whatever.

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are meant for.”

Is there a book character you have a crush on ? Your Steve in “Action” was divine. And Jacob from PsyCop is my all time favourite book guy. And Zane, and Ty, and Jake, and Vadim … oy! apparently I am a Fictional Floozie!

Oh lord, I fall in love with all of my boys. My boyfriend is grateful that they’re gay.

OK… now for some random quickfire questions :

Ready? .. that wasn’t one of them by the way!

White wine or red?

White

Coffee or tea?

Iced Tea

Trueblood or Vampire Diaries?

Neither…sorry

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

Sure! ….

You can find me here – www.lizborino.com or at goodreads and you can find my books here …

“Action!” : Amazon or AllRomance

“Expectations” : Amazon or AllRomance

“What Money Can’t Buy” : Amazon or AllRomance

“Gifts from the Past” : Amazon or AllRomance

Thanks so much for stopping by Liz, I really appreciate it! and good luck with all your future books!

Be sure to check out BuyTheBook’s review of “Action!” And there is one copy of “Action!” up for grabs, just for commenting!