Some Kind Of Magic : A Being(s) in Love Story

Some Kind of Magic

 

Title : Some Kind of Magic

Series : A Being(s) in Love Story, Book #1

Author : R. Cooper

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Shifters, Werewolves

Length : 192 pages (e-book)

Published : May 4, 2011

 

Blurb: 

Being a police detective is hard. Add the complication of being a werewolf subject to human prejudice, and you might say Ray Branigan has his work cut out for him. He’s hot on the trail of a killer when he realizes he needs help.

Enter Cal Parker, the beautiful half-fairy Ray’s secretly been in love with for years—secretly, because while werewolves mate for life, fairies… don’t. Ray needs Cal’s expertise, but it isn’t easy to concentrate with his mate walking around half-naked trying to publicly seduce him. By the time Ray identifies the killer—and sorts out a few prejudices of his own—it may be too late for Cal.

Review:

For Valentine’s Day Dreamspinner Press gave readers a few opportunities to get a free book. I am very thankful! I picked up Some Kind of Magic, by R. Cooper, primarily because it has a werewolf who is a cop as a main character. I’m easy, what can I say? It could only be better had he been a fireman and at some point in the story appeared in a kilt. So, Ray Branigan is a Homicide detective, his partner is a Siren named Penelope. When working some cases they get help from consultants. One of them, a half-fairy named Cal Parker, happens to be Ray’s mate. Ray refuses to accept it. Everyone knows fairies don’t mate for life. They lose interest, fidget, and are flighty. Even Cal’s own father, Calvin, lost his fairy wife.

Ray and Penelope get a new murder case. The victim, a sleazy defense attorney, had his neck broken and head ripped off. It was vicious and could only possibly be committed by someone very large and strong. Someone like a werewolf. Magic was involved so Cal and his partner are as well. Cal is always around, putting his scent on things, being around Ray. Driving him crazy. As the case progresses, with more murders, it becomes harder and harder for Ray to avoid Cal. Eventually he just gives in and spends a night with him. Cal runs out the next morning without explaining why he was leaving. Around the same time everyone at the police station can see Ray and Cal’s newly strained relationship Cal begins to put the pieces of the murders together. As it turns out, someone really awful was much closer to them than they could imagine.

This was a good murder mystery. And, as soon as the motive was apparent I figured out who the killer was! I felt smart! The character development was both integral to the plot and world building of the book. Ray and Cal, whose full name is Callalilly, both frustrated and charmed me. And of course the whole werewolf cop thing was great. There was growling and possessiveness that is so sexy in books but would be beyond psychotic in real life.

Before I get too carried away explaining all the wonder in this book I had a serious problem with a big chunk of it. On my reader this book had 119 pages. At least twenty of those was a flashback toward the end of the book. Flashbacks kind of suck. I know lots of people who completely hate them and just skim over them. Most people comment they’re okay with flashbacks provided they don’t disrupt the flow of the book. I can think of no one I’ve encountered commenting they love flashbacks. I understand their purpose and get why authors use them. They are a fantastic way of showing information. A great book is a delicate balance between showing information and telling information. This book completely failed to strike a balance. After twenty pages of showing information the author then had the characters discuss what they remembered and they proceeded to tell me what happened. What was the point of a sixth of the book being a useless flashback? I was kind of pissed. I probably wouldn’t have been as pissed had the book not been as good. It didn’t help it was at the end, leaving a big useless flashback as the last thing I remember.

I don’t regret choosing this to be my free book. Had I purchased it I wouldn’t be upset. I will still heartily recommend this book with the caveat you skip the flashback at the end. Ray and Cal will tell you what they’re thinking anyway.

Rated 3 stars by Faye

30-stars

2 heat