Pawn Takes Rook

PawnTakesRook

 

Title : Pawn Takes Roo

Series : Checkmate, Book #1

Author : Lex Chase

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Urban Fantasy, Humour

Length : 88 pages (e-book)

Published : March 13, 2013

Rating :  ★★★

 

Blurb: 

The first time Hogarth Dawson sees superhero Memphis Rook, he comes to Hogarth’s rescue by cracking the heads of two thugs like eggs into a skillet. Hogarth is utterly smitten, but he soon discovers the superhero Power Alliance has ejected Rook for failing to protect a civilian.

Hogarth devises a plan that will reinstate Rook and might even earn Hogarth a place in Power Alliance roster. But what he expects to be a simple few missions rescuing kittens and helping little old ladies cross the street turns into a shocking reality of citywide chases, foiling robberies, and facing his ex. Then Hogarth discovers the beating Rook saved him from wasn’t a chance attack. It’s possible Hogarth is just a pawn in Rook’s game…

Review:

First thing I’m going to say is that cover is awesome! It stopped me the minute I saw it and of course I had to click on it. The blurb saying it’s about superheroes pretty much sealed the deal for me. It kind of had a comic book feel with some witty humor. This book will call for suspending your ideas of reality because, well, they’re super heroes, who have super powers that normal men obviously don’t. I admit I got a little lost the initial time they were used and would have appreciated a more thorough explanation but I just rolled with it.

The story is told from Hogarth’s POV and starts off with him being saved from three goons by the somewhat famous superhero, Mephis Rook. He’s a bit in awe of the big guy and is shocked when the tough guy faints at his feet once the danger has passed. He can’t leave him on the street so he manages to get him back to his apartment where he strips him and puts him in a cold bath to drop his oddly high temperature. Watching Rook naked in a bathtub makes Hogarth realize he is a bit enamored with Rook and thinks maybe the guy is flirting with him. He can’t really get a feel for the guy and he’s way too scary to make a move and be wrong about it. Rook does give him a nickname, Garth, and asks him to help patrol for baddies. Garth can take care of himself somewhat because he also has a power. Garth is a Kitsbasher, someone who can manipulate and talk to technology. I think? Anyway, it’s not a common power and Rook has been kicked out of the Power Alliance, the league of superheroes, so they aren’t technically allowed to be running the streets as chasing bad guys. They do it anyway since Garth has always wanted to be a superhero and is determined to get Rook reinstated as an official hero in the alliance.

This book was a pretty fun little read. I wasn’t totally into the coupling and would have liked a bit more fire stoking in that department but I definitely wanted them together. I found myself wishing there were drawings to go along with the pages, first time in a long time I can say that about a book. I think the bad guy was kind of obvious but a nice twist and made for a good set up for future books. The most intriguing aspect is somewhat spoilerish and I can’t make up my mind if I should share or keep it a secret. It involves some secret military experimentation done to select soldiers that were disbanded and spread. There’s more to it but I found myself hooked from that moment so I’ll just leave the details out of my review and let you find out for yourself. The cliffhanger-ish type ending, and so much left open leads me to believe this will be an ongoing series that I will absolutely be following. The Volume One pic on the cover should have given that away, even if the book didn’t. I found this book quirky and unique if not a complete read.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 1 Heat