Covet Thy Neighbor

CovetThyNeighbor_500x750

 

Title : Covet Thy Neighbor

Series : Tucker Springs, Book 4

Author : L.A. Witt

 

Publisher : Riptide Publishing (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary, Romance

Length : 170 pages (e-book)

Published : March 25, 2013

 

Blurb:

Opposites attract, but heaven help these two.

Tattoo artist Seth Wheeler thinks he’s struck gold when Darren Romero rents the apartment across the hall. The new guy is gorgeous, witty, and single, plus he’s just the right blend of bold and flirtatious. Perfect.

Except then Darren reveals that he moved to Tucker Springs to take a job as the youth pastor at the New Light Church. Seth is not only an atheist, but was thrown out by his ultra-religious family when he came out. He tends to avoid believers, not out of judgment but out of self-preservation.

But Darren doesn’t give up easily, and he steadily chips away at Seth’s defenses. Darren is everything Seth wants in a man . . . except for that one massive detail he just can’t overlook. Is Darren’s religion the real problem, or is it just a convenient smoke screen to keep him from facing deeper fears? It’s either see the light, or risk pushing Darren away forever.

Review:

I really liked this addition to the Tucker Springs series. I was a little worried about just how “preachy” this book was going be but I thought it was handled wonderfully. Witt has created one hell of a sexy youth minister and he wasn’t at all what I expected. I’m pretty sure everyone will be pleasantly surprised by Darren. 😀 A toppy from the bottom minister meets an Atheist tattoo artist with commitment issues? Yep, I’m reading that book!

Seth isn’t happy to get a new neighbor because he liked the one moving out just fine and no telling what kind of crazy he will get stuck with after getting so lucky with the last one. What he gets is pure eye candy. Their first meeting in his tattoo shop has him wanting something more than a cup of sugar from the neighbor, Darren. Seems like he did something right because Darren asks him out for a beer one night and the conversation is good. The chemistry is definitely there and they’re laughing at each other’s jokes. Seth is definitely lusting for Darren but after he learns he’s a Minister he thinks a little bedroom action is off the menu. So he’s quite surprised when Darren slams him against the wall when they head back to their apartment and gets aggressive about wanting Seth. Then the fact he’s a minister is just a little pestering voice trying to ruin their fun. The sex was maybe the best he’s ever had, however, the morning after is awkward. Seth tries to avoid Darren all day but they end up right back in bed together followed by awkward morning #2! Seth likes him, the sex is great and he’s funny but something is holding him back. He’s basically obsessed with the fact Darren is a minister and not in a good way. Seth comes from a religious family who treated him very badly when he came out so he’s still angry and hurt. Darren is an amazing guy. He never pushes Seth about religion but Seth pushes him away for it. So it’s kind of the opposite of the stories we usually get with a person struggling with being gay and religion. Darren and Seth have both come to terms with being gay and their feelings on religion before meeting so there’s no struggle there. They don’t agree on the religion thing but Darren’s okay with Seth being an atheist because he likes everything else about him. Seth knows he’s never met another man like Darren but can he trust someone with that much faith to not hurt him again?

I love how these guys who you would think would be total opposites at first glance, end up connecting so strongly. The heat between them was palpable. I think the chemistry between the characters is enough to make this a great read but the book also made me think. I’m one of those people that religious prejudice has left a pretty nasty taste in my mouth and I admit to being weary of religious people, so I guess I’ve adopted some prejudice of my own. Maybe not to the extreme Seth does but it’s there. I think this story was kind of an understandable, but none the less reverse prejudice on the part of Seth. Maybe? That he was trying to push away a man who had all the attributes he wanted in a partner but him being a minister was just something he couldn’t get passed mentally. He got passed it physically with no problems!

I am really torn in saying that I think this is my favorite book in the series so far because I really did like Second Hand but I LOVED this one. I caught myself smiling from their conversations because they were just so good together. I caught myself heating up because the sex scenes were so smoking hot. Then I found myself begging Seth not to screw it all up because I really wanted them together. Hell, I’d love another book with these guys! Safe to say I would highly recommend reading this book. If you haven’t read the Tucker Springs series, I think you could pick up this book with no problem and I recommend you do. ❤

Rated 4 stars by Whit

4 stars

3 heat