Touch & Geaux

Touch&Geaux_500x750

Title : Touch & Geaux

Series : Cut & Run, Book #7

Author : Abigail Roux

 

Publisher : Riptide Publishing (Buy Here)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary, Action, Romance

Length : 349 pages (e-book)

Published : April 8, 2013

Rating : ★★★★★

 

B L U R B : 

After having their faces plastered across the news during a high-profile case, FBI Special Agents Ty Grady and Zane Garrett have become more useful to the Bureau posing for photo ops than working undercover. Just as Zane is beginning to consider retirement a viable option, Ty receives a distress call from a friend, leading them to a city rife with echoes from the past.

New Orleans wears its history on its streets, and it’s the one place Ty’s face could get him killed. Surrounded by trouble as soon as they land, Ty and Zane are swiftly confronted with a past from which Ty can’t hide—one with a surprising connection to Zane’s.

As threats close in from all directions, both men must come to terms with the lives they’ve led and the lies they’ve told. They soon discover that not all their secrets are out yet, and nothing lasts forever.

R E V I E W :

In the past week I’ve gorged myself on some of the best books I’ve read so far in 2013.  It was a wild and emotional ride.  Now I feel book fat and lethargic; nothing seems good to read.  One of the books from this past week was “Touch & Geaux”, by Abi Roux.  It’s the seventh in the Cut & Run series of books about FBI agents Ty Grady and Zane Garrett.  We got it early!  I was somewhat excited and read it in almost one sitting. Personally, I loved it. Rated 5 stars by Faye

tumblr_m9m17dUo921rbe9c8o1_500Beaumont Tyler Grady – This book exposed so many of Ty’s secrets — things he’s been through and the consequences for his actions. He doesn’t mean to hurt the people he gets close to on purpose, but he does it over and over. It’s sad for those people, but it’s also sad for Ty. He’s a person and he feels. Ty loves Zane and wants to be everything for him, but his path in life doesn’t fit into a neat, little, picture-perfect world. I don’t think either Ty or Zane wants that, but they do seem to enjoy the rare bits of normal they manage. Ty made pacts before he met Zane that he can’t walk away from because he’s found the one person he loves more than anything. But, that person needs him, too. Ty is just as romantic as ever in T&G. Still an absolute BAMF who can do amazing things. Still funny. We just get a deeper look into the real him and I loved it! Even with the deception and betrayals revealed, I just couldn’t bring myself to be upset with him. Ty knew what it was going to do to them. He begged  Zane not to make him reveal secrets and the timing was terrible. Ty proved his devotion to Zane in this book in his own twisted way. He did what he had to do to stay with Zane. Would I be pissed and hurt? Hell yes I would have. All the pain and anger were worth it. Ty and Zane were basically stripped bare and it made them stronger as a couple and individuals in the end. Ty’s quote “You’re a phoenix, Zane. Rising from the ashes. And all I do is make you burn,”  works for them both and now they can rise together. Rated 5 stars by Whit

tumblr_m74lb98MWk1rusfmdo1_500Zane Zachary Garrett – In this book Zane is somewhat forced to face his biggest demons – vulnerability, trust, and ultimately – faith in himself.

As the story starts, it’s wonderful to see Zane in such a content frame of mind. He’s ready to move on to the next level in his relationship with Ty, and considering his future at the agency. Loving Ty had become Zane’s salvation and total focus in life. This cozy cocoon unraveled rather spectacularly with the reveal of Ty’s secrets. It caused Zane to question all he knew about Ty and his career and perhaps about himself. Zane had been all too willing to keep the past buried, to never question Ty about his discharge from the Marines, or his black-ops assignments. One would guess he felt safer not really knowing. Zane has historically been very stoic and analytical, not only regarding what happens around him, but to him as well. Here he was blindsided by and forced to process an extreme amount of new information in just a few hours. I felt his reactions were completely understandable. Being hurt by the ones you love, hurts the most.  Ultimately it came down to Zane realizing that Ty had done it all to protect him, to be sure he was the one watching out for Zane. As surely as Zane was prepared to die for Ty, Ty was likewise prepared to die for Zane. “Ty had never tried to be something he wasn’t. He’d never tried to hide what he was. Warrior. Weapon. Bad guy. Zane knew what he was. The pain and betrayal faded. The world faded.”

Zane’s true feelings for Ty never wavered, even in the darkest moments he held concern and love for Ty. The time Zane spent alone was beautiful. I loved watching him embrace an inner strength and realize he had it in himself to live his life with Ty rather than for Ty. I’m eagerly looking forward to a future for them where they are two truly complete halves making up a rather rocking whole. Rated 5 stars by Dianne

SAS-main-largerLiam Bell – I am a total sucker for Brit boys! So when I heard that an SAS guy was going to be in this book – well, I was beside myself! Now, I don’t do spoilers. At all. So I had no clue as to what his role would be – would he be good? Bad? Surely not ugly 😛 . An ex of Zane’s or maybe Ty’s? I had no clue. All I was going with, as I started the book, was the visual in my mind’s eye of Daniel Craig… not a bad place to start  really. And he didn’t disappoint. The perfect mix – sarcastic, funny, flirty and of course lethal. It turned out he was known to the entire Sidewinder  Team (some more intimately than others!), and they didn’t look back on their time together as “the good old days!” Ultimately the parting of their ways had been pretty dramatic, and it led to a major game change for the recon team.

He seems so untrustworthy, and yet there were times that he was Johnnie-on-the-spot in this book – and isn’t that the hallmark of a great character? They keep you guessing. All the way to the end page! Abi wrote him in such a clever way that even when he was saying negative things to either Ty or Zane it came across as tongue in cheek almost, like negative reinforcement that highlighted what idiots they were being. I never really felt like he was seriously trying to cause issues between them.

And so, their final scene..  are the odds evened out now, between Liam and Ty? I seriously doubt that it was a mistake. And yet I still like him. Strange.

Will we see more of him further down the track? I really hope so! Rated 5 stars by Barb

reconT E A M   S I D E W I N D E R  :

Nick O’Flaherty… I’ve never been a big fan of Nick’s, but he’s really redeemed himself for me in this book. He’s always been loyal to Ty, but seeing him be there for Zane when Zane needed someone, really changed my opinion of him.

Kelly Abbot… *sigh* I just loved him. He’s funny, laid back, understanding and all around good guy. I want lots more of him.

Digger… The man is just funny, and just like the others he’s a loyal friend and team mate. I’d really like to see more of him in the future.

Owen Johns… The man makes me want to pull my hair out. I can see he’s really trying to behave himself, but he still has a lot to go before he gets there. We can be mad at him for his behaviour, but when it really matters, the guy is there and that’s what really counts.

My overall opinion of Team Sidewinder is that these guys are BAMF! They’re funny, loyal and really know how to kick some ass. I’d want them to have my back. Rated 5 stars by Jen

G r o u p   R e a d   R a t i n g

HI 5!

5 heat

Not surprisingly EVERYONE here at Buy the Book absolutely loved this installment in what is an incredible series – the series, these guys, this author – better and better and BETTER! Roll on 2014, and Book 8 !