Lighting the Way Home

LightingTheWayHome

 

Title : Lighting the Way Home

Series : Delectable, Book 2

Author : E.M.Lynley and Shira Anthony

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 206 pages (e-book)

Published : March 29, 2013

 

Blurb: 

World-class chef Joshua Golden is homesick for Paris before he even arrives in New York, but he’ll endure it—his parents need him to help run the family restaurant while his mother recovers from surgery. Running a place so far beneath his talents is bad enough, but bad turns to worse when Josh discovers his former best friend and lover, Micah Solomon, is living at his parents’ house with his ten-year-old son, Ethan. 

For ten years, Josh has done his best to forget how Micah shattered his heart into tiny pieces. Now Micah’s back, fresh out of prison, and helping out at the restaurant. Micah may not be the kind of sous chef Josh is used to, but he is more helpful and supportive than any of the other employees. But Josh finds it hard to keep his distance when, time after time, Micah proves himself a better man than Josh thought. Reluctantly, Josh realizes there is more to Micah than his lousy life choices… but that doesn’t mean Josh is ready to forgive him.

Review:

Joshua Golden has returned home from France to help out his parents with their restaurant while his mother recovers from surgery. When he gets to his parent’s home he is shocked to see a 10 year old boy and Micah Solomon. Micah was his best friend all through school and his lover for a little while. Micah has been living with Josh’s parents and working at their restaurant while he tries to get his life together.

I just want to say that this book may not affect someone else like it did me, but for me I was constantly mad, irritated, frustrated and ticked off. The main character Josh was so mad through almost all of this book that it really put myself in a bad mood. He’s arrogant, snotty and thinks he’s better than everyone else. He’s also a very crappy son. His attitude towards Micah was just awful. I will admit that if Micah did to me what he did to Josh, I probably would have behaved the same way.

It takes a bit of time but through flashbacks we finally get to see what happened between the two men and once Josh realizes what an ass he’s being we finally get to hear Micah’s side of the story. Once he gets his chance to speak you know he had no other choice but to do what he did. In my eyes Micah is the best part of this whole book. I just wish some of the story could have been told from his POV.

When I got to the end of the story, I was left with my mouth hanging open. To me this ending felt like a cliffhanger. Yes, there was a happy ending but it was more like they got together, but there was still issues that we didn’t get the answers too. I’m hoping we will get another book with these two guys so we can see what happened after the ending took place, and I really hope it would be from Micah’s POV, because I’m not sure I could be in Josh’s head again. Though at this point I would take about anything just to find out what happened next.

I’m sorry if people feel like this is a complaining review, but it’s the way I felt. It wasn’t an awful story by any means and I really liked getting a chance to learn some of the Jewish religion that was in here, and some of those recipes sounded amazing. I do have every intention to read the next book in the Delectable series, whether it’s a continuation or another couple.

Rated 3.5 stars by Jen

35-stars

2 heat