Never A Hero

NeverAHero_500x750

 

Title : Never A Hero

Author : Marie Sexton

Series : Tucker Springs, Book 4

 

Publisher : Riptide Publishing (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 167 pages (e-book)

Published : May 13, 2013

 

Blurb: 

Everyone deserves a hero.

Owen Meade is desperately in need of a hero. Raised by a mother who made him ashamed of his stutter, his sexual orientation, and his congenitally amputated arm, Owen lives like a hermit in his Tucker Springs apartment. But then hunky veterinarian Nick Reynolds moves in downstairs.

Nick is sexy and confident, and makes Owen comfortable with himself in a way nobody ever has. He also introduces Owen to his firecracker of a little sister, who was born with a similar congenital amputation but never let it stand in her way. When she signs the two of them up for piano lessons—and insists that they play together in a recital—Owen can’t find a way to say no. Especially since it gives him a good excuse to spend more time with Nick.

Owen knows he’s falling hard for his neighbor, but every time he gets close, Nick inexplicably pulls away. Battling his mother’s scorn and Nick’s secrets, Owen soon realizes that instead of waiting for a hero, it’s time to be one—for himself and for Nick.

Review:

I started out loving this book and I ended up liking it very much. I think up until the reveal I was totally into to it,  then it tapered off from a romance with great tension and buildup to a lot of realization and heavy topics. Yes, I like my books to have depth beyond smexy but it really changed the tone of the book for me. I wasn’t smiling anymore or feeling the heat between the characters. I wanted them together because they both deserved to be loved and obviously wanted each other. Nick was beyond adorable. A gorgeous man who rescues puppies and cooks? Hell yeah. I’d be putty, too!

Owen was born without part of his arm.  He’s pretty much let his feelings of inadequacy and embarrassment over not being “normal” direct his path in life. If he ever does pick himself up, his awful excuse of a mother makes sure to knock him down. I very much disliked her, but she was done in a very real way. Angry and cruel without being over the top.  Owen has finally moved away from his parents, but he’s a total recluse. He works from home and has his food delivered. He’s not housebound but being around people makes him uncomfortable.

His new neighbor, Nick, kind of jolts him out of his comfort zone and the two begin a friendship.  Owen hasn’t ever been with a man but Nick stirs those feelings in him. He’s kind and funny. Confident and sexy.  What’s not to like?  He seems to understand Owen and doesn’t let him fall back into his pity party. Gives him some perspective into the way he’s been living his life. Something to look forward to daily. The problem is, that although Nick flirts and touches him as often as possible, he won’t take it any further. For a shy virgin like Owen it shuts him down quick. Why would a guy like Nick want a guy like him anyway? When Nick continues his sexy ways and longing glares, Owen demands to know why Nick is playing with him and the answer he gets changes everything.

I liked so much about this story. The funny characters and heavy subject matter balance each other well. As always, Marie Sexton’s writing is brilliant. I just couldn’t get past how it felt a wee bit after school special towards the end. The MCs had SO much to work through. It was like, in the first half Nick coaxed out Owen and that was sexy and fun but the second half was a lot of angst with Owen coaxing Nick. Owen’s sister was hilarious. I found her trying to conquer things “just because” inspiring, while quitting those things made her seem realistic. Nathan is so adorable, can’t wait to read his story.  He better get a story because somebody needs to appreciate that man!

Overall it was a really good read. I think the only thing that kept this from being a five star read for me was how the chemistry seemed to fizzle out  in the last third of the book. I know it was very realistic, and they had plenty to work through. The chemistry was good. The touch me, don’t touch me stuff really worked to build the tension. I’d recommend this book and know so many people will probably disagree with me about the part I didn’t love. It was a good read and I’d recommend it.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

4 stars

2 heat