Fear, Hope and Bread Pudding

FearHopeAndBreadPudding

 

Title : Fear, Hope and Bread Pudding

Author : Marie Sexton

Series: Part of the Coda Series, Book 5.5

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 140 pages (e-book)

Published : June 5, 2013

 

Blurb: 

Sequel to Strawberries for Dessert 
Part of the Coda Series 

Families should grow, not shrink. It’s been on Jon Kechter’s mind since before he tied the knot with his millionaire lover, Cole Fenton. Now hoping to adopt, Jon and Cole search for a mother-to-be willing to let them love her baby, but the interminable wait is wearing on them both. 

Jon is close to his father, George, but until Cole, he didn’t have anyone else. Now George is pushing Cole to reconcile with his estranged mother. When the three of them spend Christmas with her in Munich, the results are disastrous. Jon and Cole resolve to stay positive, but no hope exists without a tinge of fear. Jon and Cole can’t help but wonder if their dream of being parents just wasn’t meant to be.

Review:

Wow! That book was adorable! I have this feeling after reading it that my heart is just bigger somehow. I’m so happy for the characters. To be fair “Strawberries for Dessert” is one of my favorite books. Jonathan and Cole will always be so special to me and revisiting them was such a joy.

I’ll warn everyone right away that this one isn’t the hot intense love story that “Strawberries for Dessert” was. This is after all that, once they settle into a life together and decide they’d like to expand their family. They are absolutely still in love but it’s more of a comfortable content love. Once they agree and set about the journey of adopting a baby, Cole is desperate for it. I related to his desperation based on my own struggle with fertility. He became so focused on getting a baby it took over his every thought. I thought this was done wonderfully. I doubt anybody could be as cute while being a crazy man as Cole. I just love him! He struggles with being used to instant gratification based on his never wanting for anything because he’s always had the money to make things happen.

Jonathan was such a rock for Cole in this one. We see almost everything from Jonathan’s POV again and it helps that he knows Cole so well. I enjoy seeing him through Jonathan’s loving eyes. You just know how much he loves Cole. These characters just resonate with me. They are so vivid and lovable.

This book also lets us see Jon’s dad move on from ten years of mourning for his wife. He’s honest in the fact that he most likely won’t ever love anyone like he loved his wife but it was nice to see him move on. He is such a good father. So honest and there for Jon and Cole through all things with his insight and wisdom. I loved him so much more after this book. Yes. He still calls Cole fruitcake but he loves him like a son.

We also get to know Grace’s, Cole’s mom, reasoning for being absent in her son’s life. I don’t feel she’s redeemed in anyway but I understand her better and got the feeling she and Cole will be fine one day.

Overall this book had a very different vibe from the first one but I loved it. If you even liked the characters half as much as I did you will enjoy this story. It’s a sweet and healing ending for the characters we’ve grown to love so much. I’m almost giddy with happiness for them. Obviously you need to read “Strawberries for Dessert” before reading this book. I highly recommend it.

Rated 5 stars by Whit

HI 5!

3 heat