Primal Red

 

primal

Title : Primal Red

Series : Bellingham Mystery, Book #1

Author : Nicole Kimberling

Publisher : Loose id (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 97 pages (e-book)

Published : January 27, 2009

Rating : ★★★★★

 

B L U R B : 

Peter Fontaine is a reporter writing for a free weekly newspaper in the quirky little town of Bellingham. Nick Olson is a reclusive painter with questionable past and a studio in the Vitamilk Building. Peter has a knack for choosing to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. In this case that place is the Vitamilk Building and the time is the moment that Shelley Vine, local art professor and rising star of the art world, is stabbed to death.

Determined to understand why Vine was killed, and convinced that breaking the story could jumpstart his career as an investigative journalist, Peter begins his own investigation into her death. As Peter uncovers more information about Vine, Olson, and the interconnected lives of the rest of the artists at the Vitamilk Building, he finds himself falling in love with Nick.

Peter wants a story but he also wants Nick, and it looks like he’s going to have to make a choice before the two can paint the town Primal Red.

R E V I E W :

I buy books a lot. It’s a compulsion I bravely endure. I hear great things about a book. I buy it. I read a good book by an author. I buy all their books. Well… that was in the good old days of the Fictionwise Forays where I would buy at least 10 books a week on average. FW has been gone for a while now, and my shopping sortie when I bought all the Bellingham books by Nicole Kimberling was well over a year ago. So, as I say … I buy books. But don’t necessarily read them straight away. I seem content to know that they are there. A wise Fae friend of mine once said “books don’t have a use by date” and she is spot on. As per usual.

Then I pick a book up…

And think “Why. The. Hell. Did. I. Take. So. Bloody. Long. To. Get. To. This. Book??”

“Primal Red”, by Nicole Kimberling is such a book. Such a GREAT book!

Peter Fontaine is a reporter for the Hamster, and like all reporters he is one scoop away from the story that will be THE story of his career. He is trying to uncover what is going on with the Russians and the Pierogi Tea Cafe. This has him in the alley near the Vitamilk Building, which houses the studios of quite a few local artists – including Nick Olson. Peter has noticed Nick. Nick has noticed Peter. Nothing has come of it. Then a woman is killed in the Vitamilk Building, and Peter has an in. Everyone there that night is a person of interest. Of course, being the intrepid sleuth that he is, Peter uncovers a lot more about Nick than Nick is happy to have reported, so any budding relationship is nipped in the, um, bud. 😛 Pretty quickly.

The characters are just wonderful. Peter is my favourite kind of protag sweet, brave, funny and a little bit off the wall. His constant internal monologue with his need to make mental notes/copy of everything is just so endearing. (I did quite like his version of the date he had with Nick at Nimbus.) Nick is such a sexy, laid back guy with this sweet, vulnerable, insecure side – just as I see an artist in *my* meandering mind. The jewelry is a big plus too. I love thumb rings. ♥ And something else I loved was his respect for Peters artistic bent – the way he asked him how he would write something, in response to his own paint colour description of the sunset was just lovely, very meaningful to me. The rest of the cast is great too – the Spinnin’ Wimmin, Evangeline, Doug … All great characters that really add to the whole dynamic, and I hope they feature in the series as a whole.

Nicole has this easy, clever wit in her storytelling – not in your face laugh a minute humour that leaves you feeling exhausted. I know some of her cleverness is probably wasted on me – but I see the catch phrase or punch line, even if I don’t fully understand the lead up. That counts for something, right? And in a way that only underlines her savvy skills!!

I am loving this series so far. The town of Bellingham, in fact, just sounds great. I want to live there. Or visit it, at least. I am already onto the next book! I cannot recommend this book enthusiastically enough – if you like a good mystery, with a touch of sweet, a twist of clever wit and some very nice smexy then go! Buy the Book! And I didn’t even mention the pubic toupees. 🙂

Next Book in the series – “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” – and I am onto it!!

kapowRated 5 stars by Barb

LYLBTB 50 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat