Country Fried Love

wmkirkland_countryfriedlove

 

Title : Country Fried Love

Author : W.M. Kirkland

 

Publisher : Loose Id (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : novel

Published : August 5, 2013

Rating :  ★★

 

Blurb: 

When Jaime flies to Iowa for his friend’s wedding, he discovers the closeted lover he’d left in college is out and the star at a local drag club. After a wedding weekend full of reunion sex, all Jaime wants to do is bring Trevor, aka ShyAnne, back to Denver to star at his club.

Except Trevor’s built a good life for himself in Iowa, and he wonders if Jaime wants him only for his high heels. The sex might be great, but he knows Jaime got bored with his countrified life once.

An offer for Jaime to buy an Iowa drag club has both of them rethinking their situation, and Jaime wondering if he can really be happy with some country boy love.

Review:

Jamie Richards is flying in to attend the wedding of his good friend Micah.

Trevor Marcomb is attending the wedding as maid of honor for Dixon.

Trevor and Jamie have a past. Back in college they were a pretty serious couple but when Jamie pressures Trevor to step out of the closet, Trevor runs. It’s been a lot of years since these two have seen each other but neither one of them has ever forgotten or stopped loving the other one. While Jamie is having a drink in the hotel bar a lady catches his eye. He’s surprised when she introduces herself as ShyAnne, He’s even more surprised because she’s a drag queen and she looks a bit familiar. Once Trevor reveals himself to Jamie they reconnect through an evening of sex but not wanting to take any chances of ruining anything, Trevor leaves Jamie to spend the night alone. Then during the rehearsal Jamie realizes he wants all of this. He wants the rehearsal, the cake, the ring, he wants it all and he wants it with Trevor.

Trevor knows it’s a mistake to spend so much time with Jamie but he just doesn’t have the strength to walk away. He knows after the wedding is over Jamie will go back to Denver and he may never see him again. He just wishes he had enough experience in the drag world, because then he could accept Jamie’s offer to come back to Denver and play in his club. They could finally be together after all these years. I’m sorry to say that’s not going to happen right away and after a very awkward goodbye Jamie heads back home. After a few weeks of being separated, Jamie gets an unexpected visit from Trevor’s boss, who is looking to sell his club and wants to offer it to Jamie first. The Flipped Wig is doing great business and with Jamie’s experience he could make it a hit. This could be the chance Jamie needs to get closer to Trevor, maybe now they could finally have their happily ever after.

After letting this story sit with me for 24 hours, I’m still unsure on how I feel about it. I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t care for the characters all that well. Well, I take that back, Jamie was okay but Trevor bugged me. In his thoughts he spent a lot of time thinking about how much he loved Jamie, how he never stopped but when Jamie tries to do all the right things Trevor just kept pushing him away and that was really starting to get on my nerves.

Now I have to mention the cover of this e-book. I don’t want to be mean about it, but I found this cover very unflattering. I don’t know about other people but when I’m looking on sites for books to read and I come across a cover that looks very unappealing to me, I will skip past it without reading the blurb. In this case, I think had I not read the blurb first, I wouldn’t have chosen to read this story at all. Which would have been a shame because even though this book didn’t turn out to be the book for me doesn’t mean someone else will feel the same way.

Rated 3 stars by Jen

LYLBTB 30 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat