Hungry for Love

hungry

 

Title : Hungry for Love

Author : Rick R. Reed

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (PRE-ORDER)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 200 pages (e-book)

Published : September 13, 2013

Rating : ★★★★1/2

 

Blurb:

Nate Tippie and Brandon Wilde are gay, single, and both hoping to meet that special man, even though fate has not yet delivered him to their doorstep. Nate’s sister, Hannah, and her kooky best friend, Marilyn, are about to help fate with that task by creating a profile on the gay dating site, OpenHeartOpenMind. The two women are only exploring, but when they need a face and body for the persona they create, they use Nate as the model.

When Brandon comes across the false profile, he falls for the guy he sees online. Keeping up the charade, Hannah begins corresponding with him, posing as Nate. Real complications begin when Brandon wants to meet Nate, but Nate doesn’t even know he’s being used in the online dating ruse. Hannah and Marilyn concoct another story and send Nate out to let the guy down gently. But when Nate and Brandon meet, the two men feel an instant and powerful pull toward each other. Cupid seems to have shot his bow, but how do Nate and Brandon climb out from under a mountain of deceit without letting go of their chance at love?

The book only releases on September 13th – but is available for Pre-order now! Go. Buy the Book!

Review:

I was going to give you a run down of what this story was about but I really don’t need to if you have read the blurb above. That basically gives you everything that I would have. So, I will just go right ahead and tell you what I thought of this book, which is that I truly enjoyed every minute of it.

There was several plots in this book that revolved around the characters listed below.

Brandon ~ He was looking for a relationship, one with love, respect and romance. He wanted something meaningful and something that would last. He was such a sweetheart and all he wanted was someone to love and love him back.

Nate ~ He was getting tired of hook ups. He was starting to see that life just wasn’t all that much fun anymore without someone in it. He was truly a great guy but he did have his share of secrets.

Marilyn ~ (Hannah’s BFF) I actually went ahead and looked up the definition of Fag Hag at urbandictionary.com because this is what I thought of her through the whole book and I wanted to make sure I didn’t misrepresent her and according to that website, I was not wrong. Marilyn was outrageous. I’m not exactly sure what her part in this story was supposed to be besides just being Hannah’s best friend but I found myself cracking up any time she opened her mouth.

Hannah ~ She really had me wanting to pull my hair out. I can understand her curiosity into the M/M dating sites and I could even see her curiosity with writing someone but what she continued to do throughout the story really ticked me off. You could see that she was quite jealous of her brother Nate and the fact that he never seemed to lack for dates. You could tell she was a very lonely girl, looking for love and not finding it. You could see that at the beginning she had best intentions but after things did not go her way she became ugly in her jealousy. Even at the end of the story I still didn’t really care for her. She just pushed to many of my buttons and in my mind she got off a bit to easy for the things she did.

It is taking everything I have not to spoil this book for others. I want to just write every little detail out for all of you but I don’t think it would get posted if I went and did that. 🙂

The author used a few words that I had to look up. I mean poz and poppers meant absolutely nothing to me but once looked up made a whole lot of sense. He also gave a very nice shout out to many M/M authors and even mentioned GayRomLit in this story. I am guessing those must be a few of his favorites. I know some of them are mine.

I have to admit, I have never read a book by this author before. *gasp* Shocking, I know. I regret that a little bit. I shouldn’t have waited so long to read a book by him and I plan to change that very soon. I loved his writing style, I loved the flow of the book, I didn’t feel like there was anything missing by the time the end of the story came around and I was really able to love Brandon & Nate very easily. I might have had a hard time with the main plot of the story but only because I have watched many episodes of Catfish on MTV so I have seen how things could have ended up but even that didn’t stop me from enjoying this book.

This story had romance, love, friendship, deception, jealousy, heartbreak and probably other things that I just can’t think of right now. It definitely didn’t lack on anything that’s for sure.

One last thing I want to thank Rick R. Reed for throwing in BF Mann with all the other authors. Talk about making a poor girl run all over looking for those books. *embarrassing* How I didn’t see that coming is beyond me.

Rated 4.5 stars by Jen

LYLBTB 45 star

LYLBTB 1 Heat