Strange Angels

StrangeAngels_500x750

 

Title : Strange Angels

Author : Andrea Speed

 

Publisher : Riptide Publishing (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Paranormal

Length : 138 pages (e-book)

Published : September 16, 2013

Rating : ★★1/2

 

Blurb: 

Death is the family business, and Brendan Connolly is about to come into his legacy. Nobody warned Bren that Dad was a death god, or that someday he’d inherit his powers. So far, falling in love with the angel sent to protect him has been the only good thing to come out of this whole mess.

Bren’s guardian angel, Lorygdarain, knows the aura of a ticking supernatural time bomb when he sees one. Add to that the angel’s first taste of the human emotion called love, and protecting Bren from the god who killed his father could be Dar’s hardest job in an eon.

Snakes, amnesia, and a mysterious god named Bob might not be much of a rescue plan, but one guardian angel can only do so much. With a veritable pantheon on his heels, and the universe hanging in the balance, Bren must learn to lock and load the most dangerous weapon of all: himself.

Review:

Bren find himself the focus of a group of gods. He had no idea they actually existed but they’re after him. Thank goodness he has his own guardian angel. When they realize they may need more help, they visit a fallen god named, Bob. Bob has a reputation for not being liked and odd. Once Dar explains to Bob that Bren is the half human descendant of a very powerful god that’s rumored to have been killed, he decides it’s in everybody’s best interest if he doesn’t let her get to Bren. Locked inside Bren is a whole lot of power if he is Arawn’s son. If you kill a god you absorb his powers so somebody should be bragging about it by now. Nobody is fessing up. They go on the run to different worlds, through different portals, gathering allies as they go. They’re going to need to find a way to unlock Bren’s powers if they have any chance against the alliance of baddie gods trying to kill him.

I should have loved this. Superheroes, mythology and humor, all things I love but sadly I can’t say I did. Something was off and I’ve put off writing my review to see if it comes to me because I did like it. I started thinking maybe I put too much pressure on it? But I think it was just missing that thing that draws you in. Lots of action and humor but the romantic storyline was easy and already established by the time the book started. So don’t expect much in that department. It seemed like we were just kind of thrown into the story as confused as Bren was about what was going on. You do slowly figure it all out but I spent the first part of the book trying to make sure I consumed all the details. I can’t help but feel like I missed out on them meeting. I’d have loved to have that. I bet Dar appearing to save Bren would and his reaction to it would have been great. That may have endeared me more to the characters.

My favorite part of the book was the secondary characters. Crazy gods with weird physical features and powers. The funny lines I’m used to this author giving us with strange super powers. Bob specifically was great. The gods choosing sides in a power struggle was interesting but even that part felt rushed through. The world building was good and I started to get in the groove around the middle of the book. I just can’t help but feel like I missed part of the story. I’ll be interested to hear what others think about it. Maybe it’s just me.

Rated 3.5 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 35 star

LYLBTB 1 Heat