Slide

 Slide

Title : Slide

Series : Roads, Book #1

Author : Garrett Leigh

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 274 pages (e-book)

Published : October 14, 2013

Rating : ★★★★1/2

 

Blurb: 

Don’t look back. Don’t you ever look back… 

Shy tattoo artist Ash has a troubled past. Years of neglect, drug abuse, and life on the streets have taken their toll, and sometimes it seems the deep, unspoken bond with his lover is the only balm for wounds he doesn’t quite understand. 

Chicago paramedic Pete is warmth, love, and strength—things Ash never knew he could have, and never even knew he wanted until Pete showed him. But fate is a cruel, cruel mistress, and when nightmares collide with the present, their tentatively built world comes crashing down. 

Traumatic events in Pete’s work life distance him from home, and he doesn’t realize until it’s too late that Ash has slipped away. Betrayal, secrets, and lies unfold, and when a devastating coincidence takes hold, Pete must fight with all he has to save the love of his life

Review:

It’s been a while since I read Slide. GRL kind of took my focus off reviewing. However, I can still feel it’s mark. It’s intensity. The heart crushing history of Ash. Pete’s devotion to Ash. Ash’s awakening to love. It’s still just as vivid and beautiful in my mind. That’s saying something. Any book that lingers that strongly and just mentioning the characters causes such a strong emotional reaction, speaks to just how great this book was.

The book intrigued me from the very first page. You’re transported into Peter’s mind. The couple have amazing and passionate sex in the first few pages. It kind of sets the tone of the book. You know it’s going to be good because you’re engulfed in what’s going on between them. To be that taken in by characters that quick is pretty impressive. You’re also left wondering how they got there and what exactly is wrong with Ash.

You don’t really find out until the end of the book. You know something very bad has happened to him but the details are left for you to ponder. You’re compelled to know but at the same time you don’t want to know. I will warn you it does get pretty dark. Nothing happens on page but the flashbacks have plenty of impact. I applaud the author for the way they handled this. It proves you don’t always need on page horrific events to gouge out the readers hearts.

Ash is an amazing character. He was so utterly broken. So broken he knows something is wrong with him but there’s so much he doesn’t understand about the day to day of a normal person. He lived long stretches on the streets and a normal life sometimes seems so foreign to him. I fell hard for Ash. I could totally understand why Peter was so enamored of him. He’s an amazing artist working in as a tattooist. He’s a lip biter! OMG what that does to me! I loved reading about him. Seeing things from his POV gave me a better understanding of him. Seeing him through Peter’s eyes made me love him.

Peter is very good for Ash. He lets him be who he is but also goes out of his way to include him. Peter gives him his space when it’s needed. He just reads Ash so well from the beginning. He does pull a massive dick move at one point of the book that was almost unforgivable but seeing him suffer eased away some of my anger. Peter is a bit damaged as well.

I think the only reason this didn’t get 5 stars from me was the baddie. It was all too convenient. Tied up too easily after so much horrific package. I hated the guy for sure!

The sex in this book was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! The intimacy between the MCs was so powerful. Neither man had ever felt anything close to what they had with each other. It made for this awkward push pull that just worked for them while teasing the reader. The way they connected physically and emotionally was really beautiful.

I highly recommend this book. It does have a good amount of angst but it’s anchored by the depth of the characters. Powerful sex. A few laughs and tears. Great read!marked

I followed it up with the freebie short from Dreamspinner “Marked”. If you read Slide you’ll love “Marked”. I kept wondering why this scene wasn’t in the book! I knew it would be sexy and intense and it was. Highly recommend it also!

Rated 4.5 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 45 star

LYLBTB 5 Heat