Taken

taken

 

Title : Taken

Series : Stranded, Book #2

Author : Andrew Grey

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 200 pages (e-book)

Published : October 28, 2013

Rating : 

 

Blurb: 

On the day he and Roman Capanelli were to be married, Malik Stevens wakes up in a small room with very little light. Time must be passing, because a door opens from time to time and food is left for him—that’s his only connection to the outside world. Roman is a choreographer on Broadway, and he’s waiting for Malik at the park with all their friends, ready to start their marriage ceremony. When Malik doesn’t show up, Roman is nearly heartbroken thinking he’s been left at the altar. But soon he understands that Malik hasn’t stood him up, he’s been taken.

Desperate and determined, Roman begins searching for clues to aid the police. Then, when Malik escapes, the couple continues the search until they ferret out the culprit, and in the process open up a box of secrets. An orphan who grew up in a foster home, Malik knows his father was a serial killer and his mother died of grief and shame after his father was convicted. Now it seems some of his parents’ skeletons still hang in the family closet. But was Malik’s kidnapping meant to uncover those secrets or to hide them forever?

Review:

Roman is about an hour away from getting married to the love of his life Malik. After two wonderful years together they’re finally going to tie the knot, but when Malik doesn’t show up for their wedding Roman is confused, hurt and he just doesn’t understand why Malik would do that to him. He knows deep down something has to be wrong because nothing short of being taken could keep him away and he’s right Malik was taken, but don’t think for one minute that the authors going to let you know who did it or why anytime soon because he makes us wait.

The waiting was driving me crazy. I think that’s what really grabs you in stories, all that waiting. Waiting to see if they live or die, waiting to be found, waiting to see whodunit. Waiting. Waiting. And more waiting. But, while Malik is waiting we get to see some great flashbacks to his and Romans past. We get to see how they met, how they fell in love, and we get to see what makes them so perfect for each other.

At about 30% into the book I wanted to cry. I just wanted Malik to be found so he could get back to Roman. Eventually he has to be found and when he does, I was jumping for joy. Too bad that waiting game is still going on. He may be free of the small, dark, concrete room but he still doesn’t know who did this to him or why. I kept having to set my Kindle down and walk away because I was going nuts. You know that part in horror movies where you’re screaming at the TV “Don’t go that way” or “Don’t do that” or “Run!!” That was me every time something started to happen in this book. The MC never did what I wanted them to do. I would be yelling “CALL THE POLICE” and they would be doing the opposite. I just wanted them to do it my way. 🙂

This book just blew me away. It’s no secret that Andrew Grey is one of my favorite authors and that’s because he knows how to tell a tale. TAKEN literally had everything I could want in a story. You want mystery – it had it. You want heart pounding, edge of your seat, on the verge of screaming – it had it. You want emotional – it had it. You want romance, love and sex – it had it. You want the characters to have a happily ever after – you get that too. By the time I finished this book I was ecstatic knowing these two guys were finally going to get everything they wanted and more. Heck, even the side characters seem to be getting there happily ever after’s as well, though I wouldn’t be against a book for Victor and Detective Boutcher. *hint* *hint* I’m just throwing that out there. 🙂

Again, another incredible book by Mr. Grey. If you haven’t read this yet, then go buy it already.

kapowRated 5 stars by Jen

LYLBTB 50 star

LYLBTB 4 Heat