Curious Sustenance

 

CuriousSustenance 

Title : Curious Sustenance

Author : Charley Descoteaux 

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY IT HERE)

Genre : M/M. Contemporary, BDSM

Length : 150 pages (e-book)

Published : November 20, 2013

Rating : ★★★1/2

 

Blurb :

He never knew boundaries could be so sexy.

Ross Jenson is looking forward to a little midmorning delight to celebrate making Lifetime in Weight Watchers, but after he spent eight months losing ninety-eight pounds, what his lover gets him is a triple-layer chocolate cake. When Ross refuses to eat it, the newly minted ex leaves the country and dumps him via e-mail, with three sentences and a link to a chubby chasers web site. A few days later, Ross’s best friend and workout buddy takes him to her favorite club for drinks. Ross is shocked when he realizes it’s a sex club but warms to the idea in record time when a mysterious Japanese man and his silken ropes sweep him off his feet. Ross has never thought of himself as adventurous, but he can’t stop thinking about the man who makes his bones feel like gummy worms.

Warnings: this book features a corporate sensitivity trainer with an agenda, an awesome gal-pal, an unconventional sex club, a mysterious Japanese rope artist, and another taste of Portland, Oregon as seen through my twisted mind…

Review :

This was my first book by this author. The blurb was intriguing and I love reading new authors so why not? I think ultimately this book started off very promising and just didn’t live up to it in the end. I’m a little sad I didn’t love it. It was good. I wouldn’t categorize this as bondage. More of a rope kink. If you were really trying to make a case for bondage one guy was in charge while the MCs were doing a scene. I do love a bossy man! 😉

Ross has lost a ton of weight. He’s so proud of himself. His jerk boyfriend is not. He’s what’s known as a chubby chaser and likes his men plump. Nothing wrong with that but it’s not what Ross wants. His boyfriend basically gives him the ultimatum to gain the wait back or he’s out. Ross doesn’t give in thank goodness. He moves out and into his best friend Piper’s house. Though he eventually realizes it was better to know who the man he’d been with really was, it still takes some time to crawl out of his funk. One night Piper suggests they go out. Ross never expected her to take him to a sex club. Which is understandable because as I’ve said in another review, that’s NOT the kind of thing you should spring on a person. Ross is a little uncomfortable but then he sees Miles. Miles also sees him and doesn’t know Ross is a newbie. So he suggests a scene and a smitten Ross agrees. What Miles is into is Shabari which is a rope kink. I’m sure there’s more to it than that but I’m also a novice. It was pretty sexy. The author did a great job of portraying all the sensations that Ross is feeling during the scene. When it’s over Ross loses sight of Miles. Also, something that seems weird to me. Normally there’s a certain amount of care involved afterward, right? I could be wrong.

Anyway, they come in contact a few more times outside of the club. Usually short or awkward meetings but there is something there that gives Ross hope. Ross wants to make a connection with Miles but doesn’t know if it’s wanted or what the protocol outside the club. He just knows he wants to see Miles again. You know something is haunting Mile’s but it’s not a POV change half way through the book that you find out. The switch confused me initially because I had to reread but it did help me understand Miles better. Until this point I kept wondering what Mile’s was hiding. Mile’s character was a little dry at times though. Such a sexy zen guy with a rope kink should have excited me but his character never really did. I actually preferred Ross. I did enjoy the teasing moments waiting on them getting it together.

There were a few scenes I don’t really know why they were in the book. I kept waiting for them to come into play later but they never really did. The ex’s assault and Piper’s close call happened and that was it. I thought the worry that Mile’s had weighing on his shoulders seemed heavy and real. I loved Ross and Piper together. Oh, and the brother! All of them on page gave the book a nice humorous element. Oh and I really enjoyed the side love story. I would like to read more about them.

Overall I had a lot of hope for this book. From the beginning I was intrigued but it seemed to fizzle a little towards the end. I will check out more books from this author.

Rated 3.5 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 35 star

LYLBTB 4 Heat