Kick Start : A Dangerous Ground Blog Tour

KickStartBanner

Interview with a Vamp… um, David Bradley

We catch up with Lt. Commander David Bradley at the Officer’s Club in San Diego. The Officer’s Club is not an official military institution. In fact, it’s about as unofficial as you can get: a men’s club downtown, frequented almost exclusively by gay servicemen. Mostly Navy, this being San Diego. At this time of day, it’s quiet and mostly private. This is not a hot spot, not a place for the hip and happening younger crowd. Most of the men here are Bradley’s age or older, mature, well-established in their careers, men who know what they want and are well on the way to getting it — if they don’t have it already.

DB : “You made it,” Bradley greets us in a mellow baritone. He’s sitting by the fireplace, drinking bourbon. He’s a big, handsome bear of a man. Warm, brown eyes, dark hair, and an attractive smile.

Barb and I order drinks and I pull out my list of questions. Bradley raises his eyebrows. “You came prepared.”

“Readers are curious about you,” I admit. “More curious than I’d have expected. So first question, where are you stationed now and what are you up to?”

DB : “Still stationed in San Diego. I like it here. I like the weather, among other things. I was only in France for the D-Day Celebration. It just happened to coincide with Will Brandt’s DSS posting.”

“Well, since you brought up the subject, do you mind if we talk a little bit about Will Brandt?”

DB : Bradley sips his drink, says in measured tone, “Not at all. I figured that was the reason behind this little get-together.”

“Not entirely. Anyway. You were ready to up the ante with Will, weren’t you? Move the relationship up to the next level – were you surprised when he finished it? Was it a total shock or did you have an inkling that maybe the partnership between Will and Taylor had itself moved to another level?”

DB : “If Agent MacAllister hadn’t managed to get shot through his own reckless action, I have no doubt Will and I would be together now. Was I shocked when Will broke it off? Yes. Do I understand his reasons for breaking it off? Mostly. From what I gather, it was touch and go for MacAllister, and it was iffy as to whether he’d ever make it back to full agent status.” Bradley shrugs. “I understand about the bond between partners, and I understand that Will somehow felt guilty, responsible for MacAllister’s injury. And Will is a loyal and supportive friend. I don’t think guilt is a good basis for a relationship, and I don’t think loyalty and friendship, though important, are enough to build a relationship on. But that’s something Will has to figure out for himself.”

Barb asks, “Was it the whole “it’s not you, it’s me speech.”? And to get the old brush off on the phone? That must have hurt.”

DB : “Will was direct. He told me exactly what had happened and why. I spoke to him twice, each time asking if I could drive up to L.A. to support him – as a friend, if nothing else. The first time he was too shaken to really listen. The second time, he said — he was perfectly frank — that he couldn’t risk any action that might jeopardize MacAllister’s recovery.”

“So you think Will doesn’t really love Taylor?” I ask.

DB : “Not at all. I think Will does love him. But I think he’s mistaking the love of friends and brother-in-arms for the love required for a deeper, lasting commitment. If MacAllister hadn’t got himself shot, they would not be together now. It’s that simple.”

“And what do you think MacAllister feels for Will?”

DB : Bradley’s full, sensual mouth twists a little. “Your readers aren’t going to want to hear this, but here’s the truth. I’ve known a lot of guys like Taylor MacAllister. I have no doubt he’s an exceptional agent. But I would bet money he’s a self-centered, egotistical asshole when it comes to personal relationships. He had no interest in a real relationship with Will until he saw Will getting ready to commit to someone else. It was a dog in the manger reaction. He saw himself losing Will’s full attention. That’s the gist of it. I’m not saying he doesn’t love Will as a close friend and a partner, but I know his type. Now that he has what he thinks he wanted, he’ll get bored and he’ll start looking for excitement elsewhere. I guaran-damn-tee it.”

Barb asks, “Any regrets then? That you should have fought harder for your man? Instead of backing off?”

DB : “If I’d pushed too hard, I’d have lost Will’s friendship. I couldn’t afford to do that. Later on, as Will begins to realize he’s made a mistake, he might need a shoulder to cry on. If that happens, I want to be that shoulder. Even if it’s just out of friendship or for old time’s sake. Will meant — still means — a lot to me.”

“Did you love him?”

DB : “Yes. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I knew Will was the guy for me, from practically our first meeting.”

“That kiss in San Diego, between you and Will, seemed to throw you both a bit,” Barb says. “Like a throwback Thursday kinda kiss. 🙂 It was a pretty…ugh what word Josh? Dickish? Naff?”

“Uncool,” I say.

Barb laughs. “Uncool. It was an uncool move to make given you had just been chatting about Will and Taylor as a couple. Did you really mean it as a goodbye? Or were you trying to rekindle something there?”

DB : Bradley says, “I just wanted to remind Will that there were other fish in the sea. Bigger fish. Better fish.”

Barb says, “Fast forward quite a bit … was it good seeing a familiar face when you and Will caught up in France? And no second attempt at a “goodbye” kiss after your dinner? Good boy 🙂 “

DB : “It was great to see him. I won’t deny that a part of me hoped that it wouldn’t be quite so great to see him. Unfortunately, the old feelings were still there.”

I say, “For you. Do you think they were there for Will?”

DB : “Absolutely. I don’t think it was a coincidence his memory skipped over his time with MacAllister and homed in on our time together.”

“You don’t think that was because Will is frightened of how much he feels for MacAllister?”

DB : “If I was hooked up with MacAllister, I’d be afraid too. But no. I don’t believe it was that.”

Barb says, “It must have been so very difficult for you to cope with Will’s condition in France? I think you actually acted like a gentleman — totally making up for your previous indiscretion in San Diego.”

DB : “It was hard as hell. But I wasn’t going to take advantage of Will. I want Will back, but it has to be an informed and conscious decision on his part.”

Barb asks, “Did you hear about the engagement? How do you feel about it?”

DB : “If you’ll notice, it was Will who wanted to formalize things. Has MacAllister bought Will a ring? Does he even wear Will’s ring? I doubt it. Engagements can be broken.”

My drink is gone. Barb’s is down to the melted ice cubes. I know our time is running short. “What if Will doesn’t change his mind? What if MacAllister feels more for Will than you realize? What if he and MacAllister do work things out? Do you still see other people? Do you ever go out?”

DB : “Hell yes, I go out. I don’t sit home waiting for the phone to ring. I know Will will do everything possible to make that relationship work, and if that’s what he really wants, I wish him the best. I’m trying to move on with my life. I’d be happy if I could meet someone else, but Will Brandt is a hard act to follow. We were good with each other, the best I’ve ever known with anyone. That makes it tough to let go. But I’m still out there looking, hoping to meet someone. Someone I could love, someone who could really love me. I think I deserve that. I think everyone does.”

Quickfire Questions :

Tea or coffee?
DB : Coffee. Black and strong.

Favourite colour?
DB : Dress whites

Beer , wine or something harder?
DB : Good bourbon

What do you miss most from home when you are based overseas?
DB : It’s been a long time since I was based overseas, but I used to miss really good Mexican food. San Diego is right by the border and we have some of the best Mexican food in the States. I love salsa and chips.

Cats or dogs?
DB : Dogs

When you aren’t in full uniform what is your favourite casual gear?
DB : Jeans and t-shirt or jeans and a sweatshirt

“And finally – is there anything you’d like us to pass on to Will and Tay?”

DB : Bradley smiled faintly. “No. I’ll give them space to work things out. I can wait. Time is on my side.”

* * * * *

About the Book :
KickStart_Final4PDFamazon

Series : Dangerous Ground, Book 5

Author : Josh Lanyon

Publisher : Just Joshin

Release Date : December 1 , 2013

Pages : 128 pages (e-book)

Blurb : Will is finally braced to bring Taylor home to meet the folks. Unfortunately, not every member of the Brandt clan loves Taylor the way Will does. Then again, not everyone loves the Brandts. In fact, someone has a score to settle — and too bad for any former DS agents who get in the way when the bullets start to fly.

Purchase Links

Amazon I ARe I B&N I Smashwords

* * * * *

About the Author

josh lanyonA distinct voice in gay fiction, multi-award-winning author Josh Lanyon has been writing gay mystery and romance for over a decade. In addition to numerous short stories, novellas, and novels, Josh is the author of the critically acclaimed Adrien English series, including The Hell You Say, winner of the 2006 USABookNews awards for GLBT Fiction and a Lambda Literary Award finalist for Gay Mystery. Josh is also the author of the definitive M/M writing guide Man, Oh Man: Writing M/M Fiction for Kinks and Ca$h.

But, really…do you care? Probably not. More to the point, Josh writes gay or M/M romance — usually within the context of a mystery / romantic-suspense or action – adventure. Lanyon’s particular brand of erotic romance features sexy cops and smartass writers, tough Navy SEALs and sensitive artists, hard as nail special agents and…other hard as nails special agents.

Josh is an EPPIE Award winner and a three-time Lambda Literary Award finalist. He lives in Los Angeles, California with his Significant Other. You can find out more at the Just Joshin blog on Livejournal/Blogspot or through Josh’s mailing list.

You can also find Josh at :

   ”

* * * * *

There will be a total of NINE lucky winners, selected randomly across the entire BlogHop (Prize details listed below). For a chance to win one of these swagalicious giveaways all you need to do is follow the Rafflecopter link below, and fill in your details – BUT don’t forget to comment here too :


Kick Start Giveaway Info :
  • Begins Day 1 of Blog Hop, December 2, 2013
  • Ends on Final Day of Blog Hop, December 7, 2013, at midnight EDT
  • Drawings are open to both U.S. readers and international readers.
  • PLEASE NOTE : Winners will be announced on Josh’s Facebook Fan Page on Sunday December 8th, 2013 – there will be 9 winner in total (prizes as listed below)
Prizes :
  • Grand Prize : Paperwhite Kindle with all “Dangerous Ground” books sent separately (including Kick Start) for winner to install.
  • Kick Start T’shirt
  • Kick Start Coffee Mug
  • Set of Magnets
  • 2 ebooks to 1 lucky winner from Josh’s back catalogue
  • 3 audiobooks to 3 lucky winners (1 each) from Josh’s back catalogue
  • Top Secret Special Edition Mug
Good luck! And thanks for stopping by!