Snow Globe

snow globe

Title : Snow Globe

Author : L.E. Franks

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary, Holidays

Length : 44 pages (e-book)

Published : December 1, 2013

Rating : ★★★★

 

Blurb :

Kris Hamilton escaped the rat race in LA to live his dream of owning an art studio and making snow globes in a Christmas-themed town in northern Minnesota. But life in a tiny town isn’t as peaceful as advertised, and being treated like an outsider is making Kris’s Tourette’s flare up. When he inadvertently offends Tyr Tollefson—a beautiful blond giant of a man—Kris is ready to chuck it all. But he strikes up an unlikely friendship with Tyr’s cousin Bun, who shows them the magic of Christmas and gives them both a lesson in love and acceptance.

This is a story from the Dreamspinner Press 2013 Advent Calendar package“Heartwarming”.

Review :

The heartwarming part of this title is exactly what this book was. The characters were interesting and I felt connected to them right away. I adored them. I loved the idea of Kris taking a chance and moving to a town named Christmas to craft snow globes. This book was so charming.

The way the author explained Kris’s Tourettes through his actions so thoroughly was really impressive. I learned so much from his episodes by experiencing it with him. That kind of thing can sound like a mini lesson when presented but this was enlightening actually. I really liked Kris. His lists were kind fun to read through and gave me an inside look at his thought process.

Tyr is kind of a dream guy. Big Nordic looking guy with a heart of gold? Yes, please! I don’t know much about him beyond that. I wonder if we were meant to? Or if it would have somehow spoiled the fantasy of him? To be fair it was a short story and there were two other very interesting characters to explore. Both men were great with Bun. She had me wrapped around her finger with how sweet she was.

Nice little read. I could have sat and read 150 more pages. Things like them getting to know each other slowly and developing feelings didn’t happen on page. It felt like a short story. The beginning seemed like you I was settling into something really amazing and then it was over. 😦 So, good that I wanted more. Not so great I needed more. Still a solid 4 star heartwarming story.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 2 Heat