Alaska

Alaska

Title : Alaska

Author : Kim Fielding

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary, Holidays

Length : 45 pages (e-book)

Published : December 1, 2013

Rating : ★★★★1/2

 

Blurb :

Best friends Scott and Marco meet on a rooftop on Christmas Eve, each temporarily escaping from his difficult home life. With no gift to share, Marco instead promises to someday rescue Scott and take him to Alaska. As the years pass, they meet—first by design, then by chance—on occasional Christmas Eves, only to find life growing increasingly difficult. They treasure the few moments they have together, but will they ever reach Alaska? 

A story from the Dreamspinner Press 2013 Advent Calendar package “Heartwarming”.

Review :

Oh, I loved this. It hurt so good! Like those sad love songs that you crank up and sing along to even though it makes you get the “feels”. I think the only reason I’m not giving it 5 stars was I wanted more. To know where the hell Scott runs off to. To know what he went through and how he longed for Marco. There is some serious potential for expanding this story and I hope she does. I’m scared to learn the details but I can’t help but want to know. It helps that everything works out in the end.  This one set the romantic in me into full on dreamy mode. I loved the book as it is but can’t help thinking just how amazing it would have been to bounce back and forth between those years apart. AND their meet ups on Christmas. OMG! Even when it was years since they’d last seen each other the connection was so evident and palpable. I also would have loved to see Marco through Scott’s eyes. I bet that would be intense! They really did love each other for all those years but life got in the way. It’s kind of bittersweet in that they found the love of their lives at a very early age but that just wasn’t enough. Great read.. Maybe not your warm and fuzzy holiday read but I highly recommend it. It gave me a mini book high.

Rated 4.5 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 45 star

LYLBTB 2 Heat