Fish and Ghosts : Blog Tour

There is a small group of m/m readers in San Diego who are lucky enough to get to hang out with Rhys Ford on a regular basis.  We spend hours at lunch together and eat new and interesting foods.  We volunteered to ask Rhys a few questions for a Q&A here.  You’ll have to imagine we’re asking her these questions at our usual bakery as we drink Vietnamese coffee.  We are collectively known as the San Diego Crewe.

San Diego Crewe: How did you come up with the title “Fish & Ghosts”?  

Rhys: I actually came up with the title from the saying that Fish and guests stink after three days. Since Tristan’s Guests don’t stay longer than their three days, it suited the book. The title is actually what started the whole thing¡Kit struck me and kind of roller-coaster crazy from that point forward. I don’t even really know who said it first. I should probably go Google that.  Ah, it is attributed to Benjamin Franklin.

There you go. Ben Franklin is the inspiration for a M/M paranormal romance.

San Diego Crewe: Did someone die a grisly death in this book?  What about a classic car, did a classic car die a grisly death or have something disgusting happen to it?

Rhys: No, no cars were harmed in the making of this book. No one dies in this book. *thinks* No, no one dies. That’s not already dead. It’s complicated.

San Diego Crewe: What was the inspiration for this book and it’s universe?

Rhys: Apparently, Ben Franklin! Heh.

I wanted to write a paranormal book but wanted it to be something different. Something more in the lines of how I think. The content and style were very comfortable and the characters were very easily sketched. I enjoyed writing them and a tinge of horror is like comfort food for me.

The universe was problematic because it had to be steeped in science of some sort. Spectral entities and their planes of existence are fascinating so I wanted to explore how ultrasound and sub-spectrum wavelengths would be involved in the supernatural.

In a lot of ways, I’m like Tristan but I needed the science to be very Wolf. It had to make sense.

San Diego Crewe: What inspired the repeater type ghost who wants to be a cook and why is she different than the other ghosts in the book?

Rhys: The repeater ghost is an interesting aspect of the supernatural lexicon. Oftentimes they are reliving an event and don’t acknowledge any solid being around them. I wanted to take that concept and twist it because the Grange is a different sort of place. And that even in death, sometimes someone just can’t let go¡ªeven when given the opportunity and the means to do so.

This is in no way what I’m insinuating about the person I used for the repeater’s inspiration.  She’s a delightful and amazing person whom I wanted to give a shout-out to.

San Diego Crewe: Will Wolf and Tris ever meet Miki and Damie?

Rhys: Probably not, no. I did a small little Sinner’s Gin shout out just because but no, their universes are too different. Miki and Damie are placed quite firmly in the non-supernatural whereas Wolf and Tris are smack dab in the middle of it. Never the twain shall meet.

San Diego Crewe: What are your planned releases for 2014?

Rhys: Oh, what a question. I have Dirty Deeds, the fourth Cole McGinnis book in the Dirty series coming out in March 2014. There is a steampunk novella called Clockwork Tangerine out in the Spring of 2014. I am currently working on Tequila Mockingbird and that will be out in 2014 but a short novella with Miki and Kane called The Devil’s Brew will be released before that. That piece will tie in a few things for Tequila Mockingbird. Following TM, I will be working on Down and Dirty, Bobby and Ichiro’s book then we’re back to Tristan and Wolf in the second Hellsinger novel.

San Diego Crewe: What is your favorite food?  Kalbi?  Carne Asada fries?  Spam? 

Rhys: My favourite food would be lau lau, a native Hawaiian dish made of taro leaves, beef, pork and butterfish. Steamed and then served with rice or poi. Preferably fresh poi but rice definitely. I also like sweet potatoes with it. Just plain sweet potatoes.

San Diego Crewe: You’ve exposed us to a lot of new and delicious foods, what plans do you have for our tastebuds in 2014?  Okay, I have to admit this question is just for the sake of the San Diego Crewe.

Rhys: Oh, let’s see. We have yet to do hardcore Thai at Sab-E-Lee, which would be nice. Brazilian BBQ would also be good to try. I’m not one for Southern Indian but northern cuisine is good. Filipino would rock. And then there’s always Hawaiian food which I should really expose more people to. There’s a delightful family-run Hawaiian deli near my house. Also a Chamorro (Guamanian) deli next to my house. I’m also up for Vietnamese. Bot Chien is something I haven’t had in a while. And a GOOD Korean BBQ in San Diego wouldn’t be bad.

San Diego Crewe: Do you consider Fish and Ghosts to be a lighthearted book?

Rhys: I actually do. Well for me. From my perspective which can be a little off. Objects in the mirror appear brighter than they are. Or darker. However that goes. I thought Angelheart was a comedy. I try to bring humour to the table. In the middle of the lurching monsters, there should be a bit of laughter because who doesn’t laugh when their face is being eaten off? I mean really, common response.

But yes, Fish and Ghosts less murder, more mayhem.

San Diego Crewe: The elephant. What is the significance?

Rhys: Ah, the elephant. Because even the souls of an animal can keep you company in the afterlife. *nods*

San Diego Crewe:  In the book you wrote, “Even ghosts seemed to walk off with a hotel’s linens.” What inspired this? Were you ever a hotel owner?

Rhys: My parents used to manage a hotel in Kona but no, I don’t remember anyone stealing that many towels. I think I read somewhere that towels were the most stolen item from a hotel. Although I’d call shenanigans and say it would be pens and toiletries but I suppose those count as consumables

Thank you for having me here. I appreciate the time and effort all of you put in to promote my novels. Truly, I would not be here without you all, reviewers and readers alike. Please follow the Advent calendar and check out Cole and Jae’s contribution to the Holidays, Dirty Sweets which can only be found here on Live Your Life, Buy The Book.

Thanks again! So so much!

* * * * *

About the Book 

FishandGhosts

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Paranormal

Length : 240 pages (e-book)

Published : December 30, 2013

Blurb

When his Uncle Mortimer died and left him Hoxne Grange, the family’s Gilded Age mansion, Tristan Pryce became the second generation of Pryces to serve as a caretaker for the estate, a way station for spirits on their final steps to the afterlife. Tristan is prepared for challenges, though not necessarily from the ghosts he’s seen since childhood. Determined to establish Tristan’s insanity and gain access to his trust fund, his loving relatives hire Dr. Wolf Kincaid and his paranormal researchers, Hellsinger Investigations, to prove the Grange is not haunted.

Skeptic Wolf Kincaid has made it his life’s work to debunk the supernatural. After years of cons and fakes, he can’t wait to reveal the Grange’s ghostly activity is just badly leveled floorboards and a drafty old house. More than a few surprises await him at the Grange, including its prickly, reclusive owner. Tristan Pryce is much less insane and much more attractive than Wolf wants to admit, and when his team releases a ghostly serial killer on the Grange, Wolf is torn between his skepticism and protecting the man he’s been sent to discredit.

About the Author : 

rhys

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with three cats, a black Pomeranian puffball, a bonsai wolfhound, and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep of a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and a red Hamilton Beach coffee maker.

Author Links:

”
rsz_giveaway-graphic

Rhys is giving away a copy of the e-book “Fish and Ghosts” (on it’s release day) to one lucky winner – all you need to do is comment below for a chance to win it! And as if that wasn’t enough …. the winner will also get to be a bit part character in the next book – how cool is that?? Contest ends on 8am EST, December 30th, 2013. Good luck!!