Jurassic Heart

jurassic

 

Title :Jurassic Heart

Author : Anna Martin

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY IT HERE)

Genre : M/M, Mystery, Suspense

Length : 200 pages (e-book)

Published : December 27, 2013

Rating : ★★

 

Blurb :

When paleontologist Nick Eisenberg learns that someone thinks they have found velociraptor bones in Alberta, his curiosity overrides his desire to stay in London. After all, he’s one of the world’s leading experts on prehistoric predators and has always wanted to look for the velociraptor’s North American cousins. There’s only one problem: eco-conservationist Hunter Joseph. While Nick supervises the dig, Hunter rallies support from the locals to oppose the way the team is destroying the landscape in their search for dinosaur bones.

Nick and Hunter just cannot get along. Hunter is self-righteous and pouty. Nick is narrow-minded and geeky. But they have to figure out how to work on the same site without killing each other, especially since someone else out there seems determined to cause Nick more problems than he could have ever imagined.

Review :

I’ve really liked everything I’ve read of this author’s so I jumped at a chance to read this. It’s not everyday I read about paleontologists either. So something a little different by an author I like is a win win in my book.

Nick has been stuck in an office job for too long. It’s been awhile since he’s been on a site doing field work. So when he gets a call to verify a claim of finding a specific dinosaur in Alberta he’s reluctant because of the douche bag,Eric, running the dig, but he’s happy to get paid and get back out there. He isn’t able to confirm the claim made by the Eric but he does see something interesting. He decides to hang around in hopes of finding more evidence about his hunch. When Eric is beat up bad enough to be hospitalized the dig is shut down. Nick’s find is enough to reopen it under his leadership with different funding. Things are looking up for Nick. He has a good team and they have a chance at a great discovery. Then a local conservationist shows up bring the heat upon the project. They can’t stand each other but there’s an attraction that’s feeding the fire of their fury with each other.

I liked this book. Anybody who finds paleontology or digs interesting should love this. I thought at times there was too much about it for my liking but that’s just me. I would have preferred more of a build between the MCs. It just went from I hate you to let’s have sex so quickly I just didn’t get that need for them to get together.

The secondary characters were fun. Boner, the best friend, added some humor with his interactions with Nick. The people trying to sabotage the dig didn’t really play that big of a role in the book. Things kept happening but it never reached any kind of intensity making the ending anticlimactic.

This was an enjoyable read. Not very fast paced but the subject matter was interesting. I kind of had luke warm feelings about the MCs. It was good but not as wonderful as some other reviewers found it IMO. However, I’ll keep buying this authors books for sure. I highly recommend Tattoos and Teacups if she’s a new to you author. It’s still my favorite by her.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat