Riding Tall

 riding tall

Title : Riding Tall

Author : Kate Sherwood

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Western

Length : 200 pages (e-book)

Published : February 3, 2014

Rating : ★★★

 

Blurb :

Sequel to The Fall

Joe Sutton and Scott Mackenzie have ridden off into the sunset, but they wake to the cruel light of reality. Joe loves his family, even with the addition of three neighbors orphaned by a house fire. He loves the land that has supported them for generations. While there’s plenty of room left in his heart for Mackenzie, Joe must make room for him in his life. 

Tired of taking and determined not to depend on another sugar daddy, Mackenzie returns to modeling in the city, but the wild clubs he once loved aren’t home anymore. Yet things aren’t right back at the ranch either. Joe is no longer the man he knew. Before the love of his life reaches his breaking point, Mackenzie must convince Joe he’s not lazy if he takes a break and not weak if he needs a little help. Finding the balance between give and take might leave them time for happily ever after.

Review :

We first met Joe and Mackenzie in The Fall where two total opposite men meet and fall in love. In Riding Tall we get to see what happens after the newness wears off and one tries to fit into another’s world.

Joe has his hands full and I mean a heaping plate of holy crap and guilt eating away at him like I have never seen written before. I have to admit right off that I spent a great deal of time while reading this book being completely irritated with Joe. I just wanted to shake and scream at him. He takes on more than he can handle instead of asking for help, he feels guilty for everything that goes wrong in anyone and everyone’s life-like it’s his fault and don’t even get me started on how he was breaking my heart with all his thoughts of how he basically didn’t think he deserved to find happiness with Mackenzie. I just wanted to give him a big hug and say “Joe! It will be ok.” and then I wanted to smack him in the head. Joe’s inner guilt and his need to take care of and be responsible for everything was one of the biggest downfalls for me with this story. I like Joe but I had a very hard time dealing with it on a regular basis.

When this story begins Mackenzie is off in the city doing a photo shoot trying to earn some money so he wont feel like a kept boy like he was when he was dating Nathan. Joe is busy trying to run the ranch, take care of his sister & nephew and now the added Walton children. Things are literally upside down and there is no righting this ship on the horizon. And if you think that’s crazy just go ahead and add another Walton child who has special needs caused from the fire, brother Nick is back and wanting more money and trying to blackmail someone to get it, Will has a shocking surprise of his own and to make matters worse our two men are already drifting apart. I know! It makes you wonder if these two will ever get things worked out and of course the author wouldn’t leave us hanging like that. With Mackenzie’s love for Joe and the family, he sets out to make Joe’s life a whole lot easier, so they can finally be together the way they should have been all along.

This book was full of complete chaos and though a lot of people thrive on all that angst, I really am not one of them. In my opinion I thought it was a bit too much and it made me unable to enjoy the story as much as I would have if a few things had been different. I really wanted more about Joe and Mackenzie and less about the family and the neighbor children. I am a fan of this authors work and I would recommend her stuff in a heartbeat but this story just was not for me but that doesn’t mean it wont be for you.

Rated 3 stars by Jen

LYLBTB 30 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat