Floodgates

Floodgates

Title : Floodgates

Author : Mary Calmes

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Mystery/Suspense

Length : 234 pages (e-book)

Published : March 3, 2014

Rating : ★★★

 

Blurb: 

Tracy Brandt considers himself a lucky man. He has a wonderful family, good friends, and a dependable job. His love life, however, features a cheating ex who, though out of the house, is not yet out of the picture—with a past that just might get Tracy killed.

Homicide inspector Cord Nolan wants nothing more than to show his best friend’s little brother that he’s a reliable man, but to do that he’ll have to get Tracy to look past the player he used to be. It’ll be a tough sell; reputation is everything, and Cord’s is tarnished by his past indiscretions.

Tracy and Cord have spent five years trying to suffocate their fiery attraction under a blanket of grudging antagonism. When Tracy finds himself with a target on his back, Cord finally has the chance to ride to the rescue and break through the dam of Tracy’s reserve. But he’d better be careful: if Cord is breaking the floodgates to wash away the past, he’s going to have to hold tight to Tracy to make sure they’re still standing when the tumult recedes.

Review:

I said I wasn’t going to read anymore Mary Calmes stories a few books ago. Obviously I didn’t stick to that since I’m reviewing it. The blurb sounded good damn it! If you’ve ever read this author you know what you’re getting yourself into when picking up a book. That’s both bad and good. I’m rating this as a Mary Calmes book because lets face it, it is what it is.

Floodgates had the typical Mary Sue character that everyone adores and loves. Hot sex and lovable characters. Questionable choices by the MC that make you want to smack him. He’s also a bit clueless but has a heart of gold! This one had a bit of a murder mystery revolving around Tracy (one of the MCs) ex boyfriend. I felt that once the killer is met on page it was fairly obvious who it was. The book’s tension kind of ended at that point for me. The last quarter of the book was a quick and easy wrap up of the rest of the book that for me didn’t really do anything to help me love the book.

The relationship between Cord and Tracy was brilliant. I loved the transition between them from someone you’d love to avoid to lovers. At the beginning of the book they’re forced to be friendly based on the fact Cord is Tracy’s brother’s best friend. There’s a tension there from the moment they get on page together that I really enjoyed. At this point I also loved all the little hints that Tracy was misreading Cord’s grunts and comments. It’s fun to read between the lines since the book is told from Tracy’s POV. Sort of builds an anticipation for the moment the MC finally realizes, “oh! You want me!” Once Cord decides to confess his feelings things move quickly since Tracy has wanted exactly what Cord is offering for years. Then there was Cord’s possessiveness which I almost always find hot in fiction. I do! I admit it.

I also adored so many secondary characters in this book. Even the bastard cheating Ex had his moments. The brothers ❤ I loved Tracy’s brothers! I think the author got around her usual everyone wants the MC bit by making it brotherly love. Not to say Tracy wasn’t wanted by many in this book. He was! I also really enjoyed the small parts his misunderstood partner played in this book. I’d like to read more about him. He was intriguing. Of course if he’s straight I don’t know if that would happen. 😉

So, yes I enjoyed this book. The first ¾ was very good but the last part seemed rushed and tied up neatly. If you like this author’s previous work you will absolutely want to read this one. If you never have I’d recommend this one as a book to try out. It’ll definitely give you a feel for her stories.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 4 Heat