Clipped

Clipped

Title : Clipped

Author : Devon McCormack

 

Publisher : Wilde City (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Fantasy, Paranormal

Length : 69,000 words (e-book)

Published : April 9, 2014

Rating : ★★1/2

 

Blurb: 

Though mortals have been convinced that God cares about their souls, nothing could be further from the truth. He created the world as a gift for his lover, Satan. But when Satan left him, he decided to end what he saw as his most grotesque creation.

Satan and his army of demons are man’s only hope…

The demon Kinzer and his lover, Janka, have been sent by Satan to spy on the Raze, a gang of rogue demons who are working with God to bring about Armageddon. When someone exposes their true allegiances, the Raze clips Kinzer’s wings and murders Janka. Kinzer manages to escape. He tracks down Satan’s allies to warn them about a mole in their midst when he learns that they’ve located the Antichrist—a powerful weapon that could prevent the apocalypse. Now, he’s on a mission to protect the Antichrist and avenge his lover’s death.

Review:

It’s not often I come across a book I really dislike on multiple levels. “Clipped” is one of those books. As always, this is purely my opinion. Also, I’d like to add when I have strong feelings toward a book I consider that good. Regardless of how I felt about the events and action that took place in this book I certainly had a response.

This is the story of a group of angels and demons who are trying to save humanity from other angels and demons. They team up with some mortals along the way. There is much betrayal, both ancient and new. The world basically consisted of a traditional Milton based heaven with God and Satan being very close until they weren’t and Satan and his followers being cast from heaven. The twist in this story being Satan is the real good guy. The heroes are trying to save the antichrist, who is humanity’s only hope. Of course, the heroes team up into couples along the way. I actually found the emotional responses realistic and compelling in many ways. Kinzer and Dedrus were tragic in their missed connection. What I truly disliked was the sex was based on a desire to humiliate and hurt, or be humiliated and hurt. For me it went beyond what I like to read in terms of a D/s relationship and simply became cruelty. I don’t find cruelty to be sexy. I found Treycore to be one of the most interesting characters. His apparent selfishness contrasted well with his attraction to the selflessness he saw in mortals. I also didn’t feel he wanted to hurt Kid so much as have great sex. Kid was a bit confused on the line between sex and torture.

There is not a lot more I can say without the risk of spoilers. The story is not resolved at the end of the book. I do feel this book was properly crafted but very simply not at all to my tastes.

Rated 2.5 stars by Faye

LYLBTB 25 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat