Rising Sun

rising sun

Title : Rising Sun

Author : M.J. O’Shea

 

Publisher : Loose Id (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Science Fiction

Length : 132 pages (e-book)

Published : April 7, 2014

Rating : ★★★

 

Blurb: 

Previous book: Dark Sun

Castor Kovalenko, socialite and high ranking member of the Dragon Triad, is worried about his cousin, Lynx. He’s been missing for weeks and there have been rumors circling the city, rumors that he’s been taken hostage by the hacker thief Yoru Katana. Castor needs to find his cousin before it’s too late. He’s willing to do nearly anything to bring Lynx to safety.

Jaffa Sharp is trying to stay alive. It’s not easy when the only thing you’ve ever learned to do is steal. Even harder when he keeps running into one annoying Dragon prince who keeps trying to get him arrested.

When Castor uses Jaffa to get to his cousin and the thief Katana, they both learn that nothing is as it seemed, including Lynx and Katana himself. Castor and Jaffa soon become involved in a plot to take the city back from the villainous triads. They find themselves fighting the people they thought were their leaders–and fighting an attraction stronger than either of them have felt before. Nothing is certain in the precarious new world they find themselves in: Life, death, friend, enemy, and the most uncertain thing of all…love.

Review:

Let’s start this review off with me being honest. I did NOT read the first book in this series. It sounds pretty good. I may go back and read it some day. You know those book that you tell your friends “this one is pretty good” about half way through and then it kind of putters out? That’s how I felt about this book. There was a nice set up of the conflict between the two MCs. It doesn’t start off packing any sexual charged punches but I was definitely intrigued on where the author was going to take me. Both for the romance and the intrigue.

The world building was pretty interesting and even though I didn’t read the previous book I followed along fine. I know I missed some things but honestly it only made me want to go back and read the previous book. There was a big build up of a revolution that kind of a dud. The premise of this series is powerful families of the Triad rule this post apocalyptic world, New Seattle. There are levels and your power and wealth determine your status and place in New Seattle. Obviously there’s corruption and deceit power families that leads to the revolt lead by a few members of the power families of the Triad who realize the Triad is poisoning it’s own people to control them and gain wealth. Some of these things certainly mirror things that go on in our current day society. This story does have that fantasy vibe I enjoy.

The romantic story between the MCs started off as foes and then became allies to friends. I think the part I missed out on, and would have endeared me to the characters more. are the three weeks that we jump forward in the story. The explanation of how feelings changed didn’t really make me feel them. I was being told something instead of experiencing it along with the characters. I didn’t dislike the couple. They were very sweet together. I particularly liked Castor.

The part of this story that actually dropped the rating for me was the ending. There was all this build up and suspense for nothing. I can’t go into this specifically without spoiling so I won’t. I was disappointed after all the anticipation. I really liked the fairy tales played out in the book. Sounds like the first couple mirrored Romeo & Juliet and this one had some Robin Hood moments going on. There were quite a few elements to this book that I liked which is why I’m a bit saddened to say this book had some good potential that for me it didn’t deliver on.

Rated 3 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 30 star

LYLBTB 1 Heat