Stormin’ Norman

norman

Title : Stormin’ Norman

Series : Lyon Road Vets #4

Author : Sue Brown

 

Publisher : Sue Brown’s Stories

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Published : June 9, 2014

Rating : ★★★★★

 

Blurb:

Dan had been Jesse’s partner for many years, and always there for Jesse on his return from difficult assignments. However, after breaking his promise not to leave again, Jesse learns to his cost that Dan can be pushed too far. When he returns home, broken in body and spirit, Jesse finds his house empty and Dan in the arms of someone else.

To fill his life, Jesse decides to get a dog. His friends and neighbours take him to choose a puppy. What he doesn’t expect is for Norman to choose him. As Jesse takes on a new job, with Norman’s assistance, he realises that Dan isn’t far away, and he still loves him. Dan has moved on with his life. Can Jesse do the same?

Review:

Note : We were given an ARC of Stormin’ Norman in exhange for an honest review – and honestly? We loved it!! Go. Buy the Book! (as soon as you can.)

Just before I sat down to read Stormin’ Norman, I thought maybe it would be a good idea to re-read the previous book. It had been some time since I had read it and I wanted to make sure I remembered each character, but just as I was about to start, my fingers flew to my archives and pulled out the first two books as well. I guess I really wanted to do a complete re-read and I will say I don’t regret that decision one bit. The first three books were just as amazing to me the second time around as they were the first. I even forgot how much I cried like a baby in the first three chapters of Hairy Harry’s Car Seat, because I did it all over again. If you haven’t done so, you should definitely read the first 3 books.

We first meet Jesse and Dan in book 3 – Hazel Takes Over. At the end of the third book, we know that Jesse is about to leave for another job and his boyfriend Dan of seven years has decided he cannot take the waiting this time and that he’s not going to wait for Jesse anymore. Being gone for six months to a year is a long time for someone to wait when they feel like their life is stuck on hold. When Stormin’ Norman starts, it begins by showing us how these two met each other. Jump seven years and you get to see Jesse telling Dan he’s leaving again and the heartbreak of Dan walking away. Hey, Jesse promised he would resign and they would finally be together but he didn’t keep his promise.enhanced-buzz-wide-31509-1329859462-2 Fastforward a little over a year later and Jesse is back. He has finally decided to resign for good and be done with his job. No more assignments, no more leaving Dan. Yep, insert sad face here because Dan has a boyfriend now and is no longer available. Jesse is devastated. He took Dan for granted and he lost the only person who ever truly meant anything to him.

Jesse really needs a night out and Evan and Peter have volunteered to watch his new puppy Norman while he’s gone, but just as he’s walking next door he runs into Dan and his boyfriend Mickey for the first time. Even my heart broke a little at that moment. As the months go by Jesse tries hard to be friends with Dan but being around him and Mickey is killing him. He really needs to move on with his life but he’s so confused, and all he really wants is to get Dan back. He may even get his chance if he can convince Dan that he loves him and that he’s more important than any job. When the ending came, I must have read it over three different times before I convinced myself that yes, it was over and I was bummed. I wanted more. Isn’t that how it always goes with good books? The ending always comes way to soon.

I wanted Jesse and Dan’s story so badly after Hazel Takes Over. (Book 3) I wasn’t sure when or if it would happen but when I saw their story was coming out, I jumped at the chance to get it and yeah, no disappointment here. It was fantastic. I was so happy that she didn’t just have them jump right back into their relationship when Jesse came home. Having them wait and work through everything made the story so much more realistic and so much better for it.

So, you want to hear what I thought? I loved it! It was my favorite one in the series. Sue Brown truly is one talented author. There hasn’t been a story by her that I haven’t enjoyed yet and I doubt there ever will be. She did such an amazing job with Jesse and Dan’s story and I cannot wait for her to write more. I mean Jesse’s friend Leo could really use someone all for himself. 🙂

kapowRated 5 stars by Jen

LYLBTB 50 star

LYLBTB 1 Heat