Hearsay

 

hearsay

Title : Hearsay

Series : Bylaws, #1

Author : Taylor V. Donovan

Publisher : TVD Books (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 299 pages (e-book)

Published : June 28, 2014

Rating : ★★★★

 

Blurb:

Senior associate attorney Derrick Swain wants it all: a loving husband, a fulfilling career, and a couple of kids. After years of hard work he’s on the fast track to a promotion. He’s also met the man of his dreams. A week of daily lunch meetings in Central Park provides the perfect setting to get to know him better, and Derrick thinks it won’t be long before they take the next step and go on a date. But instead of asking him out, the object of his affection stops showing up without explanation, leaving him to wonder what went wrong.

As part owner of one of the most prestigious law firms in New York City, Roman Bradford knows that professional success isn’t the be all end all. Although he’s been lucky in life, true love has eluded him for the most part. One too many failed relationships have caused him to be leery of trying again, until he meets a man that can only be described as temptation personified. A few conversations is all it takes for Roman to start believing things will be different this time around. It doesn’t matter that they are boss and employee, or that he’s feeling too much, too fast. Not when he can see the same emotions in Derrick’s eyes. Then life turns on a dime, and Roman has no option but to let his chance at happiness go.

A battle of wills ensues when a life-altering case brings them together a year later. Roman wants to do the right thing by not letting anything happen between them, and Derrick is determined to prove they’re meant to be together. Evidence will be presented and final arguments will be made. Will they be able to come to an agreement, or will they opt to have their potential relationship dismissed?

Review:

First off. I would not consider this a cliffhanger. I keep seeing that thrown around. Are all the story arcs tidied up nice and neat at the end of the book? No. This is a planned series. From talking with this author last year at GRL, I know she’s a planner. She knows where she’s taking these characters. Have a little faith she’ll take care of us, the readers. She hasn’t done me wrong yet!

Were the MCs a couple at the end of the book? Yes. Most of this book is filled with angst and letting go of fears. Mostly about the MCs becoming a couple but thankfully there’s more to the story. I am all about the romance and characters but I like a little more to my books.

Did I want to throw my Nook when it was over? No. I wanted to read more sure. I wanted to know how the court case and investigation would play out and how the guys dealt with as a new couple. How Derrick helps out Dani and Georgia. What happens to Tyler and the foundations. That’s just good writing IMO. Leaving your reader satisfied but wanting more is pretty smart if you ask me. I like that. Just know going in this is not a one off book. There will be more to come and I actually think the second one will be even better than the first. I’m quite fascinated with the idea of the good guys taking on the opportunistic and not so upstanding bad guy in the court of law. I was perfectly happy with where the book left off and have full faith in Roman to take care of shit. He’s got something to fight for again and I’m looking forward to reading about it.

I liked the crazy gossip angle. Wondering if any of it was true in regards to what Roman was hiding. I don’t think there’s any question as to what his secret was at the half way point but the “hearsay” did mess with me a little. The yearning and tension was so good in this book. The MCs basically fell in love a year before the events of this book take place. So they’ve been pining for each other ever since. Derrick has no idea what changed in terms of their budding relationship a year ago. The “hearsay” comes into play here again when they both hear things that hurt the other. Derrick knows he wants Roman. His past experiences have taught him to make his own destiny and not wait for it to happen. Pride gets in his way for awhile but when Roman walks in his office he knows he has to take this chance. Derrick was going to get his man or have some closure. Roman thought he was doing the best thing by resisting the obvious spark going on between them but it was inevitable. Derrick is probably one of the sassiest characters TVD has written. I found him both entertaining and frustrating with his mood swings. At one point he even feels the need to warn Roman he’s not bipolar. 🙂 Lots of little funny moments like that throughout the book. Roman is so sexy in that powerful good guy way and yet heartbreaking. It’s awful to see this strong, brilliant and capable man be reduced to one thing in his mind. To be resolved to his fate. Very sad.

I did feel like some of the mental contemplation of the two MCs became too much at times. Kind of slowed the pace for me and dulled some of the hurt I was feeling for the characters. When I read the blurb of this book I thought we’d get some court time but not in this book which was a little disappointing but it’s coming in the next book. I can’t wait to see Roman do his thing! I’ll be reading it as soon as I can get my hands on it.

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat