I Survived Seattle

seattle

Title : I Survived Seattle

Author : J.K. Hogan

 

Publisher : Wilde City (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 161 pages (e-book)

Published : March 19, 2014

Rating : ★★★

 

Blurb: 

As if being a deeply closeted gay man living in the South isn’t enough, Justice Crawford also suffers from a crippling anxiety disorder. Flying cross country to be the best man in his best friend’s wedding probably isn’t the best idea, right? Forced back into the closet after being rejected by his family, Justice has given up on the idea of finding acceptance and love. He has allowed his disorder and his troubled past to keep him from taking a chance, but love might just find him where he least expects it… in Seattle.

Sailor and charter boat captain Nic Valentine is still reeling from the unexpected death of his father, when the man of his dreams—literally—falls into his lap. He thinks he’ll never see the man again, but fate has other plans. Nic tries to resist the charms of adorably quirky, nervous Justice, because he has no desire to get tangled up with another closet case. But when life keeps throwing them together, will Nic decide that Justice might be a keeper after all?

Review:

This the first book I’ve read from this author. There were things I liked and disliked like most books. Some things I enjoyed were the secondary characters and their contribution to the story. It’s always helpful to get to know the main characters through thoughts from secondary characters. Gives me a better feel for them. Justice and Nic had great chemistry. They were definitely sizzling on page. There was a good connection that straddled the insta-love and insta-lust line. I especially enjoyed things from Nic’s POV. The way he looked and reacted to Justice really helped me understand what he was seeing in him. Justice was kind of a whirlwind character. He was all over the place. He was high then low. Strong then weak. Feminine and then masculine. I felt rung out just reading about him. I can’t imagine actually being in love with him. Complex character indeed.

Some of the things that didn’t work for me were Justice’s panic attacks. I just didn’t feel his pain and fear. I know I read it but it just didn’t break that barrier where I’m right there in it with the character. So, I was just reading about Justice’s many issues and how they affected the people around him. I’m not the saint Nic is and became frustrated with Justice. Justice went from public displays of affection to not being able to walk in his friend’s wedding with Nic when that meant the world to Nic after his ex made Nic his dirty little secret. Came off as selfish and cruel. He did redeem himself in the end. I get the fact that he had to deal with his issues before he could really be with Nic but I don’t have to like it!

Another thing that niggled with me was Nic’s dirty talk to Justice at some very inappropriate times. Justice was way back in the closet and for Nic to talk about pounding Justice into a mattress while in public almost seemed vulgar instead of sexy. I get that he was pushing him but it just seemed like too much. For the most part Nic was an amazing guy and I adored his character. This was my only issue with him.

I kind of wish Rich’s character wasn’t so over the top. You understand where all the BS comes from by the end of the book but he’s just so unlikable. I have strongly disliked a character before and an author fully redeemed him in my mind and hopefully, if the next book is heading where I think it is, that happens. I did like Rory and my mind is already wondering about him….. I’ll be picking up the next book to find out!

Rated 3 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 30 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat