Nothing But Smoke

smoke

Title : Nothing But Smoke

Series : Fire and Rain, Book #3

Author : Daisy Harris

Publisher : Samhain (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 214 pages (e-book)

Published : June 10, 2014

Rating :  ★★

 

Blurb: 

Sometimes good boys do bad things.

Michael Larson considers himself one of the good guys. He recycles, eats mostly vegan, and volunteers. But one night, while on a jog through a Seattle park, he encounters a sexy man on a motorcycle he wants to be bad with.

Firefighter Nicky O’Brian barely has time to even think about a sex life. Between his job and caring for his critically ill mother, his only pleasures involve a few racy videos and occasional nighttime forays to find men willing to help him forget his troubles.

It was supposed to be a one-time, anonymous hookup—until fate intervenes and their mutual attraction blossoms into a furtive affair. Michael doesn’t date closeted guys, but for the haunted, lonely Nicky he makes an exception.

When Nicky’s mother takes a turn for the worse, Michael is forced to make a choice between idealism and compassion. And as Nicky’s needs spiral out of control, Michael realizes that a new set of ideals could be exactly what he needs to keep love in his life—for good.

Product Warnings : Contains sex in the trees, sex in parked cars, and sex in other uncomfortable places. Tissues are required, because the ending will make you cry—and maybe make you want to call your Mom.

Review:

I know I said this after reading last book in this series but I think this one is my favorite of the series! My new favorite I guess. 😉 I’m totally allowed to change my mind. These just keep getting better IMO. I adored both the MCs. I was completely engaged in the first few pages. I enjoyed their first casual and somewhat seedy hook up in the park. It was hot but promised more to come.

You may remember Michael from a previous book. No worries if you haven’t read the rest of the series. I think you can follow along just fine but they are good reads if you like this one, go back for the others. Micheal isn’t interested in getting involved with a closetted man, He has issues with them. Hook ups are another thing entirely. When he runs into Nicky at a party he learns a little bit more about him and finds out Nicky is firmly off his relationship list because of his fear of being outed. Neither can resist the spark that’s between and things move along pretty fast from there.

I think Nicky not being out actually enhanced the overall heat of the sex scenes. There’s was this desperation to them. Kind of made them more urgent and needy to get a few minutes together to give into their desires. Things move beyond that to friendship and more fairly quickly which made things even better! Sex is hot but it’s so much hotter knowing they’re connecting in a way that’s more than just physical. In fact there wasn’t penetration sex for a good portion of this book but I honestly didn’t miss it I anticipated the moment it would happen.

Nicky’s mom is terminal in this book. I think the author did a great job addressing this. It’s heavy subject matter and could easily overwhelm the story but I didn’t feel it did. She’s also very religious. I think these reasons gave a very real understanding of why Nicky isn’t out and why he can’t even think about starting a relationship with man at this point in his life. His fear is absolutely understandable. The way Michael handles all the things Nicky throws at him kind of makes me love him more. He’s scared of what he’s getting himself into but he knows he can’t walk away. They have a few blow ups but it’s a lot to take in pretty quickly. That’s actually another worry of theirs. Just a little more pressure for the guys! Reading about them working things out and falling in love consumed me for a few hours and isn’t that what we want out of a book? Another one I’d recommend picking up!

Rated 4 stars by Whit

LYLBTB 40 star

LYLBTB 4 Heat