Men of Smithfield : Max and Finn

Not long until we get a new Men of Smithfield book from the uber talented author LB Gregg!! So we thought it would be fun to revisit the entire series – especially given that they have all had a new lease of life over at Carina. We will finish it off, on release day of book 5 “Sam and Aaron“, with an LB Gregg Q&A session and GiVeAwaY!!

Today we have Faye reviewing book 2…

max and finn


Title : Max and Finn

Series : Men of Smithfield #2

Author : LB Gregg

Publisher : Carina Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 159 pages (e-book)

Published : September 3, 2012

Rating : ★

 

B L U R B :

When I walked out of his office after the hottest sex of my life, I thought I’d left Max Douglas behind me forever— along with my favorite argyle socks and my self-respect. The last thing I need is the too-serious, too-sexy former Marine living across the hall from me while he acts as a bodyguard for one of my students. Especially since he fired me from my job tutoring his brother—after we hooked up.

I shouldn’t want him. I should despise him after the way he treated me. But he’s exactly my type: older, experienced, in control—and it’s obvious the lust is still mutual. While I may not be able to keep our relationship strictly professional, I’m determined to keep it purely physical. But when the stalker threats escalate, it looks like Max is going to be sticking around the school for a while—and the more I get to know him, the more I’m in danger of losing my heart.

This book was originally published as “Cover Me” in October 2009

R E V I E W :

Michael “Finn” Finnegan made a huge fool of himself when he had sex with Max Douglas.  It was badly timed, to say the very least.  Finn does the best he can to ignore that less than glorious moment of his life despite the fact the sex was absolutely glorious.  Finn is happily moving on and meeting his brother and sister-in-law for a night out when he gets set up by his brother with a new man.  Only he’s not so new.  Surprise!  It’s Max!  The evening is supremely awkward and to top it off Finn learns Max has a new job assignment that will land him right in Finn’s figurative lap.  It doesn’t help that Max is still sexy and still completely disapproving of Finn.  Max and Finn both have jobs to do, ironically, for both of them it’s looking out for the safety and general welfare of the students at the school for which Finn works.  In particular Max is looking out for the safety of Hemmi whose famous father Sam wants extra protection for his son as Sam has a stalker.  Max and Finn are in the same dorm and the sexual tension is rising.  Both men want each other and know it.  Their second sexual encounter is no less spectacular than their first yet ends only slightly better.  Max and Finn realize they’re both really damaged by previous relationships.  As the burgeoning relationship heats up, so do the threats against Hemmi and, surprisingly, Finn.  Halloween was an almost fatal disaster involving a giant toaster costume, a ninja, and a masked madman shooting people with arrows.  Thankfully, Hemmi’s father Sam shows up and will take Hemmi safely away from the school ending the problems as soon as they finish their school production of Guys And Dolls.  That’s when it all goes wrong.

This has always been my favorite Men of Smithfield story.  The tale of opposites drawn together despite their best efforts is at turns both heartening and heartbreaking.  Though we don’t have Max’s POV we know he’s still mourning the loss of his boyfriend and has thrown himself into work to avoid dealing with life.  That he finds himself attracted to a somewhat Bohemian and free-spirited drama teacher who propositions him for sex in his office has got to be a shock.  Finn also finds himself attracted to something he doesn’t actually imagine himself wanting.  Max is cold, has a superior attitude, and doesn’t appear to respect Finn and his expertise at all.  It’s only through forced associations that these two men are able to learn they are more than the facades they show the world.

kapowRated 5 stars by Faye

LYLBTB 50 star

LYLBTB 3 Heat