Organic Chemistry

OrganicChemistryLG

 

Title : Organic Chemistry

Author : Andrew Grey

 

Publisher : Dreamspinner Press (BUY HERE)

Genre : M/M, Contemporary

Length : 134 pages (e-book)

Published : April 24, 2013

 

 

Blurb: 

Brendon Marcus lives for his work. A boy genius who fast-tracked his way to college professor by his early twenties, he doesn’t know any other way to be. People confound him. So when Josh Horton, the assistant football coach, pursues him, Brendon isn’t sure what to make of him. 

Josh has his own problems. His successful parents aren’t particularly happy with his career path, and some of the players don’t like having a gay assistant coach. He begins to have doubts, but Brendon makes the world look a little brighter. 

But when Brendon’s department head starts to make trouble, Josh and Brendon discover that standing up for each other is the first step to standing up for themselves.

Review:

When I started this book, I was a bit thrown off. I wasn’t expecting the main character Brandon to have such a different and unique personality. By the time I got to chapter 3, I had to stop and really take a good look at what I was reading. Brandon was throwing me for loop. He’s a different sort of guy, one who just doesn’t understand people and simply doesn’t understand things like sarcasm and teasing. He asks the question why, quite a bit because for him he just needs to know what you mean without all the run around. This was a change for me and I’m glad I finished reading it, because I ended up really liking it.

Brandon Marcus is a professor teaching chemistry who just so happens to also be a genius. To me he seems a bit ADD when it comes to his work but for him its all just another day. He meets Josh Horton by accident, when he ran right into him on his way to class. Josh immediately thinks Brandon is adorable and asks him out on a date. Which turns out to be very interesting for Josh as he tries to learn how to communicate with Brandon.

The two men start spending quite a bit of time together and Josh even invites Brandon to meet his family. Brandon is a wreck, he doesn’t want to embarrass Josh or himself by saying the wrong thing. He thinks he always says or does the wrong thing and that’s why people don’t like him. Josh tries to explain to him that all he has to do is be himself and people will like him.

“But what if being myself isn’t good enough? I always say things that people don’t want to hear because I don’t understand what isn’t being said. I’ve discovered a lot of human communication is non-verbal, but it’s like I didn’t get the manual.”

It’s all so sad. I could never imagine feeling the way poor Brandon does all the time. 😦

The dinner at Josh’s parent house goes very well for Brandon, but not so much for Josh who get offended that his parents seem to love Brandon and in his mind he thinks they might wish he was their son instead of him. Of course, he pins his anger on Brandon who doesn’t understand why. He thought Josh wanted his parents to like him. He gets very upset, calls him a butthead and jumps out of the car and runs home. Josh follows him home and proceeds to apologize, which Brandon accepts because that’s just the type of guy he is.

In the middle of all the things going on between these two men, Brandon is dealing with an awful colleague who wants to ruin him. Dr. Nungesser is a jerk! He is trying to sabotage everything Brandon does, trying to make him look bad in front of the Dean. He goes to great lengths to make his life miserable, but don’t worry the man gets his.

Now, Brandon and Josh really come together in this book. There’s not much conflict between the two of them and Josh loves Brandon with all his heart, and once Brandon learns what that means he realizes he loves Josh too.

This was a very sweet story. For me, it was different then what I’m used to reading but I really enjoyed it. Like people say “Sometimes different is good”

Rated 4 stars by Jen

4 stars

3 heat